Organisation

Last update: 19/06/2017

Institutional Framework

Executive Council

Each of the Observatory's member states is represented within the Observatory's governing body, the Executive Council, with one vote per member.  The Executive Council meets twice a year: once in the country holding the annually rotating Presidency of the Observatory and once in Strasbourg. The purpose of these meetings is to approve the Observatory's annual and three-year action plans (which form the basis of all our work) and to approve the budget needed to finance the work involved. The Observatory's budget comes from membership contributions from our member states and is also partly financed by the sales of our products and services. The full list of member organisations and their representatives can be found on the Members page.

 

41 member states plus the European Union

 

AL-Albania AT-Austria BA-Bosnia and Herzegovina BE - Belgium BG-Bulgaria
AL-Albania AM-Armenia AT-Austria BA-Bosnia and Herzegovina BE-Belgium BG-Bulgaria
CH-Switzerland CY-Cyprus Cz-Czech Republic DE-Germany DK-Denmark EE-Estonia
CH-Switzerland CY-Cyprus CZ-Czech Republic DE-Germany DK-Denmark EE-Estonia
ES-Spain FI-Finland FR-France GB-United Kingdom
ES-Spain EU-European Union FI-Finland FR-France GB-United Kingdom GE-Georgia
HR-Croatia HU-Hungary IE-Ireland IS-Iceland IT-Italy
GR - Greece HR-Croatia HU-Hungary IE-Ireland IS-Iceland IT-Italy
LI-Liechtenstein Lt-Lithuania LU-Luxembourg LV-Latvia
LI-Liechtenstein LT-Lithuania LU-Luxembourg LV-Latvia MA-Morocco ME-Montenegro
MK-"The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" LV-Latvia NO-Norway PL-Poland LV-Latvia
MK-"The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" MT-Malta NL-Netherlands NO-Norway PL-Poland PT-Portugal
Ro-Romania RU-Russia RU-Russia SI-Slovenia Sk-Slovak republic TR-Turkey
RO-Romania RU-Russia SE-Sweden SI-Slovenia SK-Slovak Republic TR-Turkey

 

The Council of Europe also participates as an Observer in the Executive Council of the Observatory.

Advisory Committee

The European Audiovisual Observatory's information is used by media professionals in Europe and indeed beyond. In order that the information we supply correspond to the information needs of these professionals, the Observatory is advised in its choices by a committee of media professionals: the Advisory Committee. This body is composed of representatives from the major European professional organisations representing most sectors of the audiovisual industry. Film makers, distributors, cinema owners, private and public broadcasters, ISPs and journalists, for example, are all represented within the Advisory Committee. This body comments on the Observatory's Action Plan and, most importantly, gives us grass roots feedback on the kind of information media professionals in Europe really need. We incorporate their feedback into our strategic choices on the information we produce. The full list of Advisory Committee members can be found on the Advisory Committee page.

 

 

Financial Committee

The Observatory's budget is composed of contributions made from our 41 member states and the European Union. It is given a final green light by our Financial Committee. This body brings together the Permanent Representatives ("Ambassadors") from each of our member states to the Council of Europe. They meet once a year in autumn in order to green light the final budget for the following year. The current list of all Permanent Representatives to the Council of Europe may be found here.

Bureau of the Executive Council

The Observatory's Bureau is, in effect, its management board elected by and from within the Executive Council. It prepares the Executive Council meetings and monitors the Observatory's work. The Bureau is composed of the Chairperson of the Executive Council and of a maximum of eight members, among which are the former Chairperson, the future Chairperson, the European Union and a maximum of five elected members. The Council of Europe has Observer status within the Bureau.

Audit Committee

The accounts of the Observatory are subject to an external audit by the Audit Committee consisting of three members selected for their qualifications in the control of finance and appointed by the Executive Council for a three-year mandate.

Secretariat

The practical and logistical aspects of the Observatory's work are carried out by its Secretariat at our Strasbourg headquarters. The Secretariat brings together the Administration headed by the Executive Director and the two content-producing Departments: the Department for Market Information and the Department for Legal Information. Three support units make it possible to bring our content to our target groups: the Production, Marketing and Distribution Unit, the Information, Press and Public Relations Unit and the Information Technology Unit. Our secretariat currently brings together 25 Europeans from 7 different countries.

Organisation

Cadre institutionnel 

Conseil exécutif 

Chaque membre de l'Observatoire est représenté au sein de l'organe directeur de l'Observatoire, à savoir son Conseil exécutif, et dispose d'un seul vote. Le Conseil exécutif se réunit deux fois par an, une fois dans le pays qui assume la présidence tournante de l'Observatoire et une seconde fois à Strasbourg.  Ces réunions sont organisées en vue d'adopter les plans d'action annuel et triennal, qui sont la base de notre activité, et d'approuver le budget nécessaire au financement de ces activités. Le budget de l'Observatoire est financé par les contributions de ses Etats membres et en partie par les recettes tirées de la vente de ses produits et services. La liste complète des organisations membres et de leurs représentants est disponible sur la page Membres.

 

40 Etats membres plus l'Union européenne 

 

AL-Albania AT-Austria BA-Bosnia and Herzegovina BE - Belgium BG-Bulgaria
AL-Albanie AM-Arménie AT-Autriche BA-Bosnie-Herzégovine BE-Belgique BG-Bulgarie
CH-Switzerland CY-Cyprus Cz-Czech Republic DE-Germany DK-Denmark EE-Estonia
CH-Suisse CY-Chypre CZ-République tchèque DE-Allemagne DK-Danemark EE-Estonie
ES-Spain FI-Finland FR-France GB-United Kingdom
ES-Espagne EU-Union européenne  FI-Finlande FR-France GB-Royaume-Uni GE-Géorgie
HR-Croatia HU-Hungary IE-Ireland IS-Iceland IT-Italy LI-Liechtenstein
HR-Croatie HU-Hongrie IE-Irlande IS-Islande IT-Italie LI-Liechtenstein
Lt-Lithuania LU-Luxembourg LV-Latvia MK-"The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"
LT-Lituanie LU-Luxembourg LV-Lettonie MA-Maroc ME-Montenegro MK-l'"ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine"
LV-Latvia NO-Norway PL-Poland LV-Latvia Ro-Romania
MT-Malte NL-Pays-Bas NO-Norvège PL-Pologne PT-Portugal RO-Roumanie
RU-Russia RU-Russia SI-Slovenia Sk-Slovak republic TR-Turkey  
RU-Fédération de Russie SE-Suède SI-Slovénie SK-République slovaque TR-Turquie  

 

Le Conseil de l'Europe participe également au Conseil exécutif de l'Observatoire en qualité d'observateur.

Comité consultatif 

Les informations de l'Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel sont utilisées par les professionnels des médias en Europe et bien au-delà. Afin que ces informations proposées répondent aux besoins d'information de ces professionnels, l'Observatoire est conseillé dans ses choix par un comité de professionnels du secteur des médias, à savoir le Comité consultatif, qui se compose de représentants des principales organisations professionnelles européennes représentant la plupart des secteurs de l'audiovisuel. Les réalisateurs, les distributeurs, les exploitants de salles, les radiodiffuseurs aussi bien publics que privés, les fournisseurs d'accès internet et les journalistes sont par exemple tous représentés au sein du Comité consultatif. Cet organe formule ses observations au sujet du plan d'action de l'Observatoire et permet surtout un indispensable retour d'information sur le type d'informations dont les professionnels des médias en Europe ont véritablement besoin. Nous intégrons leurs observations dans nos choix stratégiques en matière de production d'information. La liste complète des membres du Comité consultatif est disponible sur la page du Comité consultatif.

 

 

Comité financier

Le budget de l'Observatoire repose sur les contributions versées par nos 40 Etats membres et l'Union européenne et il revient au Comité financier de donner son feu vert définitif. Cet organe  regroupe des représentants permanents (« Ambassadeurs ») de chacun de nos Etats membres du Conseil de l'Europe. Ils se réunissent une fois par an à l'automne en vue d'approuver le budget définitif pour l'année suivante. La liste actuelle de l'ensemble des représentants permanents auprès du Conseil de l'Europe est disponible ici.

Bureau du Conseil exécutif 

Le Bureau de l'Observatoire est, bien entendu, son conseil d'administration, élu parmi les membres du Conseil exécutif. Il élabore les réunions du Conseil exécutif et exerce son contrôle sur le travail de l'Observatoire. Le Bureau se composé du Président du Conseil exécutif et d'un maximum de huit membres, parmi lesquels l'ancien président, le futur président l'Union européenne et un maximum de cinq membres élus. Le Conseil de l'Europe bénéficie du statut d'observateur au sein du Bureau.

Comité de surveillance

Les comptes de l'Observatoire font l'objet d'un contrôle externe effectué par le Comité de surveillance, qui se compose de trois membres choisis sur la base de leurs compétences en matière de contrôle des finances et nommés par le Conseil exécutif pour un mandat de trois ans.

Secrétariat

Les aspects pratiques et logistiques des travaux de l'Observatoire sont gérés par son secrétariat, basé dans notre siège à Strasbourg. Le Secrétariat rassemble l'Administration, présidée par le directeur exécutif, et les deux Départements producteurs de contenus : le Département Informations sur les marchés et les financements et le Département Informations juridiques. Trois autres unités contribuent à transmettre nos contenus aux groupes cibles : l'unité Production, Marketing et Distribution ; l'unité  Information, Presse et Relations publiques et l'unité  Informatique. Notre secrétariat compte actuellement 24 Européens originaires de 7 pays différents.