Diversité/Pluralisme

 

Workshop - The grey areas between media regulation and data protection

Publié: 03/02/2016

Workshop organised by the European Audiovisual Observatory and the European Platform of Regulatory Authorities European Youth Centre, Strasbourg - 11 December 2015  Plus


IRIS Plus 2014-3: Permettre à chacun d’accéder aux médias

Auteurs: Cristina Bachmeier, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 02/12/2014

Les obstacles à l’accessibilité de l’information et de la culture pour les personnes souffrant d’un handicap sont une question éminemment complexe. La notion même d’obstacle peut revêtir des signifi cations diverses et requérir la mise en oeuvre de différents moyens, selon qu’il s’agit par exemple d’un escalier conduisant à la porte d’entrée d’une bibliothèque ou d’un fi chier dématérialisé nécessitant la maîtrise d’un outil technologique supplémentaire.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2012-5: Must-carry : Renaissance ou réforme ?

Auteurs: Nico van Eijk et Bart van der Sloot, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/09/2012

Le 11 juillet 2012, le Tribunale Amministrativo Regionale per il Lazio, un tribunal administratif italien de Rome, a rendu une décision dans une affaire impliquant le radiodiffuseur public italien RAI (TAR Lazio Decision n° 6320). Il a estimé que la RAI avait enfreint les obligations issues de sa charte en cryptant le signal de ses chaînes de télévision gratuites, empêchant ainsi Sky Italia de les reprendre sur sa plateforme.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2012-4: Les droits exclusifs et les brefs reportages d’actualité

Auteurs: Peter Matzneller, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/06/2012

L'année 2012 est annoncée à juste titre comme l'Année du Sport, sachant qu'elle nous offrira à la fois une Coupe d'Europe de football et des jeux Olympiques d'été. Cette année verra également, si ce n'est déjà fait, se dérouler des championnats du monde dans de nombreuses autres disciplines, notamment le biathlon, le saut à ski, le patinage artistique, l'athlétisme en salle, le tennis de table, la planche à voile, le billard, le cyclisme, le badminton, le hockey sur glace, la course de moto, le tir, la course d'orientation, l'aviron, le baseball, le canoë, la lutte, le triathlon, le jiu-jitsu, le karaté, la danse et la natation. Sans oublier les championnats du monde de boxe et d'échecs, de nombreux championnats d'Europe dans divers sports et une multitude de compétitions nationales, le tournoi de tennis ATP, les courses de Formule 1, la Coupe du monde de ski alpin FIS, le tournoi de la Ligue des Champions de football…  Plus


IRIS Plus 2011-3: L’éducation aux médias

Auteurs: Tarlach McGonagle, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Faculté de droit, Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/05/2011

La formation continue est un concept bien établi permettant de poursuivre l’étude des disciplines liées à l’exercice d’une profession au-delà de l’obtention d’un diplôme scolaire ou universitaire. Plus une discipline évolue, plus il est nécessaire de se former en permanence. La formation sur le tas permet également de relever ce défi, mais en fonction du niveau de sophistication des connaissances requises, cette solution peut s’avérer inefficace.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2011-1: Une date historique pour les médias de masse en Russie

Publié: 06/02/2011

Lorsque le 15 juin 2010, la Cour suprême de la Fédération de Russie a adopté la résolution n° 16 « sur la pratique judiciaire liée à la loi de la Fédération de Russie ‘sur les médias de masse’ », la première personnalité internationale à applaudir cette initiative fut Dunja Mijatovic, Représentante de l’OSCE pour la liberté des médias, considérant qu’il s’agissait d’une « résoluti on importante » et d’un « eff ort louable pour aligner la pratique judiciaire russe sur les normes internationales en matière de liberté des médias ».  Plus


IRIS Plus 2010-4: Médias de service public: pas de contenu sans financement

Auteurs: Christian M. Bron, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/06/2010

Le financement de la radiodiffusion de service public et les exigences qui y sont attachées donnent lieu régulièrement à de nombreuses déclarations officielles. Citons, à titre d’exemple pour l’Union européenne, la communication de la Commission du 27 octobre 2009 sur l’application des règles concernant les aides d’Etat aux radiodiffuseurs publics (JO C 257, p. 1-14) ou, pour le Conseil de l’Europe, la réponse du Conseil des ministres du 21 avril 2010, dans laquelle ce dernier se félicite de la recommandation de l’Assemblée parlementaire 1878 (2009) relative au « financement de la radiodiffusion de service public ».  Plus


IRIS Plus 2009-4: La mission de service public et les nouveaux médias

Auteurs: Meike Ridinger, LL.M. (Eur.), Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/06/2009

Ce numéro d'IRIS plus est consacré à l'engagement des radiodiffuseurs du service public dans les nouveaux médias. L'auteur étudie dans quelle mesure et dans quelles conditions la mission de service public recouvre un tel engagement, ainsi que les limites actuelles d'un financement public légitime. Elle procède à une analyse détaillée du droit communautaire et de nombreuses dispositions nationales de divers pays.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2008-6: Des avancées dans le débat sur le «must-offer» ? L'exclusivité dans les médias et la communication

Auteurs: Alexander Scheuer/Sebastian Schweda, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/10/2008

La présente publication se saisit d'un débat actuel : celui de savoir si l'obligation de distribution de contenus précis (« must-carry ») doit être remplacée par une obligation d'offrir certains contenus (« must-offer »), ou tout du moins être complétée par un dispositif de ce type. Il existe d'ores et déjà une approche législative allant dans ce sens. Cet article étudie notamment l'impact d'un tel changement de paradigme du point de vue du droit de la concurrence, mais s'intéresse aussi aux tensions qui existent entre droit de la concurrence et droit d'auteur.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2008-4: La promotion de la diversité culturelle grâce aux nouvelles technologies des médias : Introduction aux défis opérationnels

Auteurs: Tarlach McGonagle, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/06/2008

Cet IRIS plus part du principe qu'il est important de clarifier les significations que l'on peut donner à la « diversité culturelle » ainsi que les concepts qui en découlent, si nous souhaitons que cette diversité culturelle prenne la forme de résultats concrets. Ce besoin de clarification se fait de plus en plus pressant au vu des avancées technologiques qui, de par leur nature même, bouleversent les cadres législatifs existants – et ce, plus encore lorsqu'elles sont associés à des concepts vagues. Cet IRIS plus est la première étape, nécessaire, d'un long chemin à parcourir.  Plus


Résultat de la recherche :

20 correspondant(s)
  1. Page 1
  2. 2

Diversity/Pluralism

 

Workshop - The grey areas between media regulation and data protection

Published: 03/02/2016

Workshop organised by the European Audiovisual Observatory and the European Platform of Regulatory Authorities European Youth Centre, Strasbourg - 11 December 2015  More


IRIS Plus 2014-3: Enabling Access to the Media for All

Authors: Cristina Bachmeier, Institute for European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 02/12/2014

When it comes to barriers to accessing information and to culture for people with disabilities, the concept becomes immediately multifaceted. Depending on how content as such is conceived, whether it is a library with stairs before an entrance door or an immaterial file requiring the command of additional technological equipment, the concept of a barrier may take on different meanings and require the use of different tools.  More


IRIS Plus 2012-5: Must-carry: Renaissance or Reformation?

Authors: Nico van Eijk and Bart van der Sloot, Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/09/2012

On 11 July 2012, the Tribunale Amministrativo Regionale per il Lazio, an Italian administrative court in Rome decided on a case involving the Italian public service broadcaster RAI (TAR Lazio Decision n. 6320). It found RAI guilty of having violated its charter by encrypting its free-to-air TV channels, which made it impossible for Sky Italia to carry RAI channels on its platform.  More


IRIS Plus 2012-4: Exclusive Rights and Short Reporting

Authors: Peter Matzneller, Institute for European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/06/2012

2012 is often called a year of sports as both the Euro 2012 football championships and the Olympic Games will be held. Of course, there will be or have been world championships in other sports, such as the biathlon, ski flying, figure skating, indoor athletics, table tennis, windsurfing, billiards, cycling, badminton, ice hockey, speedway, shooting, orienteering, rowing, baseball, canoeing, wrestling, the triathlon, jujutsu, karate, dancing and swimming. To these may be added world title fights or matches, for example in boxing or chess, numerous European championships in various sports and even more numerous national championships, ATP tournaments, Formula I racing, FIS ski racing, football Champions League matches, etc.  More


IRIS Plus 2011-3: Media Literacy

Authors: Tarlach McGonagle, Institute for Information Law (IViR), Faculty of Law, University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/05/2011

Continuous learning is a well established concept to guarantee that graduation from school or university does not mark the end of studying the subjects related to one’s profession. The more an area of knowledge is apt to change the bigger the need to stay on one’s toes. Training on the job is certainly another way to handle the challenge but depending on the sophistication of the issues it may turn out to be a dead end.  More


IRIS Plus 2011-1: A Landmark for Mass Media in Russia

Authors: Andrei Richter, Moscow Media Law and Policy Centre

Published: 06/02/2011

When on 15 June 2010 the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation adopted Resolution No. 16 “On the Judicial Practice Related to the Statute of the Russian Federation ‘On the Mass Media’”, the first international voice applauding this step was that of Dunja Mijatovic, the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media, who called it a “landmark resolution” and “a commendable effort to bring Russian court practice in line with international media freedom standards”.  More


IRIS Plus 2010-4: Public Service Media: Money for Content

Authors: Christian M. Bron, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/06/2010

There have been many public statements on the funding of public service broadcasting and the expectations associated with it. As far as the European Union is concerned, mention might be made of the Communication from the Commission of 27 October 2009 on the application of state aid rules to public service broadcasting (OJ C 257, pp. 1–14) or in the case of the Council of Europe, the Committee of Ministers’ reply of 21 April 2010 welcoming the Parliamentary Assembly’s Recommendation 1878 (2009) on the funding of public service broadcasting.  More


IRIS Plus 2009-4: The Public Service Remit and the New Media

Authors: Meike Ridinger, LL.M. (Eur.), Institute for European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/06/2009

This IRIS plus discusses the involvement of public service broadcasting in the new media. The author examines to what extent and under what conditions the public service remit covers such an involvement and where the limits to legitimate state funding currently lie. She therefore goes in some detail into EC law and mentions numerous examples of national provisions in various countries.  More


IRIS Plus 2008-6: Progress in the Must-offer Debate? Exclusivity in Media and Communication

Authors: Alexander Scheuer/Sebastian Schweda, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/10/2008

This IRIS plus looks at the various dimensions of exclusivity in media and communication. This IRIS plus considers the current debate on whether the obligation to transmit (must-carry) certain content should be replaced or at least supplemented by an obligation to offer such content (must-offer). The first legislative steps have already been taken in this direction. The article examines this question particularly with regard to the assessment under competition law of such a paradigm change, but also in view of the tension between competition law and copyright law.  More


IRIS Plus 2008-4: The Promotion of Cultural Diversity via New Media Technologies: An Introduction to the Challenges of Operationalisation

Authors: Tarlach McGonagle, Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/06/2008

This IRIS plus presupposes that it is important to clarify potential meanings of cultural diversity and arising concepts if we wish to experience cultural diversity in the form of concrete results. The need for clarification becomes more pressing with a view to technological advances which already by themselves, and all the more in tandem with vague concepts, challenge existing legal frameworks. This IRIS plus is a first and very useful step on a long way to go.  More


Search results :

20 available article(s)
  1. Page 1
  2. 2