Selected countries

 

IRIS Special 2004 - Regulating Access to Digital Television - Technical Bottlenecks, Vertically-integrated Markets and New Forms of Media Concentration

Authors: Susanne Nikoltchev (Ed.), European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/12/2004

Every single aspect of digital television is affected by the question of access control: the compilation and preparation of content to be transported; the transmission and reception of content (encrypted or not), including the necessary technical devices; content bundling; programme selection aids; and, finally, all the technical precautions that enable the viewer to actually receive content. The more of these elements that are offered by the same service provider, or in other words, the more the market structures are vertically integrated, the more serious the problem of access control becomes. In order to get to the bottom of these issues, in September 2003 the European Audiovisual Observatory, in partnership with the Institute for Information Law (IViR) and with the support of the Institute of European Media Law (EMR), organised a workshop on the theme of Vertical Limits – New Challenges for Media Regulation? The results of this workshop, together with further information, are set out in this IRIS Special.  More


IRIS Bonus 2015-2: Annotated bibliography on the protection of minors in a converged media environment

Authors: Maja Cappello (ed.), European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 09/06/2015

This annotated bibliography aims at completing the IRIS plus on “The protection of minors in a converged media environment” with a basic gateway to the most recent reference documentation available for free on the internet.  More


IRIS Bonus 2015-1: Comparative tables on the protection of minors in audiovisual media services

Authors: Sophie Valais, European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 08/04/2015

Conceived as a tool for our workshop on “Empowering users: Rating Systems, Protection Tools and Media Literacy across Europe” organised in Strasbourg jointly with the European Platform of Regulatory Authorities (EPRA) in December 2014, these comparative tables aim at giving an overview of the existing obligations across the 28 EU member states with regard to the protection of minors in audiovisual media services and to watershed periods in broadcasting services.  More


IRIS Plus 2011-1: A Landmark for Mass Media in Russia

Authors: Andrei Richter, Moscow Media Law and Policy Centre

Published: 06/02/2011

When on 15 June 2010 the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation adopted Resolution No. 16 “On the Judicial Practice Related to the Statute of the Russian Federation ‘On the Mass Media’”, the first international voice applauding this step was that of Dunja Mijatovic, the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media, who called it a “landmark resolution” and “a commendable effort to bring Russian court practice in line with international media freedom standards”.  More


IRIS Plus 2000-3: The Financing of Public Service Broadcasting in Selected Central and Eastern European States

Authors: Kerstin Däther & Alexander Scheuer, Institute of European Media Law (EMR)

Published: 01/06/2000

As Illustrated by Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and the Slovakia for the year 2000.  More


IRIS Plus 2004-1: Regulation of Minority-Language Broadcasting

Authors: Tarlach McGonagle, Institute for Information Law (IViR) of the University of Amsterdam & Andrei Richter, Moscow Media Law and Policy Centre (MMLPC)

Published: 01/02/2004

This IRIS plus considers whether - and if so, how – the use of minority languages in broadcasting is protected and promoted. It investigates the examples of Ireland, Latvia, Poland, Russia and Ukraine. This IRIS plus also contains information about the international legal framework which aims to determine how minority languages should be treated.  More


IRIS Plus 2005-2: Regulation of Advertising in the Broadcasting Sector in Countries of the Former USSR

Authors: Dmitry Golovanov, Moscow Media Law and Policy Centre

Published: 01/04/2005

This IRIS plus describes the development of radio and TV advertising regulations in the former USSR states and the current situation of advertising law in these countries.  More


IRIS Plus 2006-3: Protection of Minors from Harmful Information in the Law of Post-Soviet States

Authors: Anna Belitskaya, Moscow Media Law and Policy Centre

Published: 01/06/2006

The angle chosen in this IRIS plus is to inform about the difficulties of establishing standards, procedures and justified limits to the right to information in countries with a more recent tradition of free mass media and the challenges they pose for protecting the youth.  More


IRIS Plus 2006-4: Cultural and Regional Remits in Broadcasting

Authors: Thorsten Ader, Institute for European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/08/2006

This edition of IRIS plus explores how broadcasters' remits may be closely bound up with culture and geography. In particular, the following article focuses on legal stipulations about respect for culture and territorial specificities, which have been the subject of transnational or regional agreements.  More


IRIS Plus 2010-4: Public Service Media: Money for Content

Authors: Christian M. Bron, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/06/2010

There have been many public statements on the funding of public service broadcasting and the expectations associated with it. As far as the European Union is concerned, mention might be made of the Communication from the Commission of 27 October 2009 on the application of state aid rules to public service broadcasting (OJ C 257, pp. 1–14) or in the case of the Council of Europe, the Committee of Ministers’ reply of 21 April 2010 welcoming the Parliamentary Assembly’s Recommendation 1878 (2009) on the funding of public service broadcasting.  More


Search results :

33 available article(s)
  1. 1
  2. Page 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Sélection de pays

 

IRIS Spécial 2004 - La régulation de l'accès à la télévision numérique - Goulots d'étranglement techniques, intégration verticale des marchés et nouvelles formes de concentration dans les média

Auteurs: Susanne Nikoltchev (Ed.), Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/12/2004

Ces questions liées à la technologie de la télévision numérique sont très différentes de celles posées par la concentration classique dans les médias. En premier lieu, il convient de décider sur quel mode traiter les phénomènes techniques actuels du contrôle de l'accès au média télévision. Peut-on, doit-on ou veut-on même les réguler ? Peut-être sont-ils déjà régis par la réglementation en vigueur? Le problème du contrôle d'accès se pose à tous les stades de la télévision numérique: au niveau de l'assemblage et de la préparation des contenus destinés au transport, de l'émission et de la réception des contenus (cryptés ou non), y compris de tous les dispositifs techniques requis à cet effet, de la composition des bouquets, des aides de sélection des programmes et, enfin, au niveau de tous les dispositifs techniques permettant au téléspectateur de visionner les contenus. Plus les étapes assurées par un seul et même prestataire sont nombreuses, c'est-à-dire plus le marché a une structure d'intégration verticale, plus la problématique du contrôle d'accès devient cruciale. Pour pouvoir aborder ce problème de façon approfondie, l'Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel a organisé en septembre 2003 un atelier intitulé Limites verticales - Nouveaux défis pour la régulation des médias ? en collaboration avec l'Institut du droit de l'information (IViR) et avec le soutien de l'Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR). Les résultats de cet atelier sont présentés en trois volets dans ce numéro d'IRIS Spécial.  Plus


IRIS Bonus 2015-2: Annotated bibliography on the protection of minors in a converged media environment

Auteurs: Maja Cappello (ed.), European Audiovisual Observatory

Publié: 09/06/2015

This annotated bibliography aims at completing the IRIS plus on “The protection of minors in a converged media environment” with a basic gateway to the most recent reference documentation available for free on the internet.  Plus


IRIS Bonus 2015-1: Comparative tables on the protection of minors in audiovisual media services

Auteurs: Sophie Valais, European Audiovisual Observatory

Publié: 08/04/2015

Conceived as a tool for our workshop on “Empowering users: Rating Systems, Protection Tools and Media Literacy across Europe” organised in Strasbourg jointly with the European Platform of Regulatory Authorities (EPRA) in December 2014, these comparative tables aim at giving an overview of the existing obligations across the 28 EU member states with regard to the protection of minors in audiovisual media services and to watershed periods in broadcasting services.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2011-1: Une date historique pour les médias de masse en Russie

Publié: 06/02/2011

Lorsque le 15 juin 2010, la Cour suprême de la Fédération de Russie a adopté la résolution n° 16 « sur la pratique judiciaire liée à la loi de la Fédération de Russie ‘sur les médias de masse’ », la première personnalité internationale à applaudir cette initiative fut Dunja Mijatovic, Représentante de l’OSCE pour la liberté des médias, considérant qu’il s’agissait d’une « résoluti on importante » et d’un « eff ort louable pour aligner la pratique judiciaire russe sur les normes internationales en matière de liberté des médias ».  Plus


IRIS Plus 2000-3: Le financement de la radiodiffusion de service public dans un échantillon d'Etats d'Europe centrale et orientale

Auteurs: Kerstin Däther & Alexander Scheuer, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR)

Publié: 01/06/2000

Avec, pour illustration, les exemples de la Bulgarie, la Pologne, la Slovaquie, la République tchèque et la Hongrie pour l'année 2000.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2004-1: La réglementation de la radiodiffusion en langues minoritaires

Auteurs: Tarlach McGonagle, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR) de l'université d'Amsterdam & Andrei Richter, Centre de Droit et de Politique des Médias de Moscou (MMLPC)

Publié: 01/02/2004

Cet IRIS plus pose la question suivante : faut-il protéger ou promouvoir les langues minoritaires à la télévision, et si oui, comment ? Les exemples de l'Irlande, de la Lettonie, de la Pologne, de la Russie et de l'Ukraine sont attentivement scrutés. IRIS plus vous informe en outre sur le cadre juridique international, qui s'efforce de fixer des normes pour le traitement des langues minoritaires.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2005-2: La réglementation de la publicité dans le secteur de la radiodiffusion dans les pays de l'ancienne URSS

Auteurs: Dmitry Golovanov, Centre de Droit et de Politique des Médias de Moscou

Publié: 01/04/2005

L'apparition d'une régulation de la publicité radiodiffusée dans les nouveaux Etats issus de l'URSS fait l'objet du présent IRIS plus.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2006-3: La protection des mineurs contre les informations préjudiciables dans la législation des Etats post-soviétiques

Auteurs: Anna Belitskaya, Centre de Droit et de Politique des Médias de Moscou

Publié: 01/06/2006

L'angle d'approche retenu dans le présent IRIS plus consiste à exposer, d'une part, les difficultés que revêt l'établissement des normes, des procédures et des limites légitimes imposées au droit à l'information dans les Etats où la liberté des médias de masse s'est affirmée plus récemment et, d'autre part, les enjeux qu'elles représentent pour la protection de la jeunesse.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2006-4: La mission culturelle et le regard sur la région dans les programmes imposés des chaînes de télévision

Auteurs: Thorsten Ader, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/08/2006

La question à laquelle tente de répondre le présent numéro d'IRIS plus est la suivante : dans quelle mesure la mission des radiodiffuseurs est-elle imprégné de culture et de géographie ? L'auteur examine notamment les dispositions juridiques sur lesquelles les législateurs se sont entendus pour tenir compte des particularités culturelles et géographiques par delà les Etats ou les régions.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2010-4: Médias de service public: pas de contenu sans financement

Auteurs: Christian M. Bron, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/06/2010

Le financement de la radiodiffusion de service public et les exigences qui y sont attachées donnent lieu régulièrement à de nombreuses déclarations officielles. Citons, à titre d’exemple pour l’Union européenne, la communication de la Commission du 27 octobre 2009 sur l’application des règles concernant les aides d’Etat aux radiodiffuseurs publics (JO C 257, p. 1-14) ou, pour le Conseil de l’Europe, la réponse du Conseil des ministres du 21 avril 2010, dans laquelle ce dernier se félicite de la recommandation de l’Assemblée parlementaire 1878 (2009) relative au « financement de la radiodiffusion de service public ».  Plus


Résultat de la recherche :

33 correspondant(s)
  1. 1
  2. Page 2
  3. 3
  4. 4