Selected countries

 

IRIS Plus 2012-5: Must-carry: Renaissance or Reformation?

Authors: Nico van Eijk and Bart van der Sloot, Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/09/2012

On 11 July 2012, the Tribunale Amministrativo Regionale per il Lazio, an Italian administrative court in Rome decided on a case involving the Italian public service broadcaster RAI (TAR Lazio Decision n. 6320). It found RAI guilty of having violated its charter by encrypting its free-to-air TV channels, which made it impossible for Sky Italia to carry RAI channels on its platform.  More


IRIS Plus 2012-6: Protection of Minors and Audiovisual Content On-Demand

Authors: Alexander Scheuer and Cristina Bachmeier, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/11/2012

On-demand services with audiovisual content are continuing to be more and more popular among users. One of the world's best known platforms is no doubt YouTube, which, according to Matthew Glotzbach, the company's EMEA Managing Director, currently has 800 million users a month who upload 72 hours of fi lm material every minute and watch videos totalling 4 billion hours every month (figures quoted from www.heise.de/newsticker/meldung/Medienwoche-Sender-und-Google-kaempfen-um-die-TV-Hoheit-1697883.html). As can be gathered from the European Commission's First Report on the application of the Audiovisual Media Services Directive (COM(2012) 203 fi nal), there are a wide variety of video-on-demand (VoD) services, such as television broadcasters' catch-up TV offerings, which normally enable viewers to access via their websites (a selection of) audiovisual content for up to seven days after it has been aired. In addition, programmes stored on a continuous basis, or at least for a long period, are available from broadcasters' media libraries. In most cases, these services can be used free of charge because private providers in particular fi nance them through revenues from commercial communications.  More


IRIS Plus 2013-1: The Digital Switchover

Authors: Andrei Richter, Faculty of Journalism, Moscow State University

Published: 01/02/2013

The European Commission's report on the telecommunications market and regulatory development (see also IRIS 2012-9/8) describes, among other things, the current status of the introduction of digital television in the EU member states. According to section 5.3.2 of the report, at the time of publication (18 June 2012) it was already clear that Bulgaria, Poland, Hungary, Romania and Greece were the only EU member states that would not have completed the digitisation process before the deadline of 31 December 2012.  More


IRIS Plus 2013-4: What Is an On-demand Service?

Authors: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/09/2013

Few songwriters have captured the presentiment of change as Bob Dylan in his song "The Times They Are A-Changin'". Although written in a very particular period of the twentieth Century, its message is universal and therefore can be applied to virtually any moment in time. Indeed, the fight between the Old and the New is a constant in the history of Mankind. In that sense, Dylan's song perfectly fits the Internet age: while old media giants currently struggle with fast-paced technological developments, new online companies started by teenagers in garages and universities are taking the world by storm. The generational gap evoked by Dylan is also evident, with parents feeling that, paraphrasing the song's lyrics, their children's online activities are "beyond their command".  More


IRIS Plus 2014-3: Enabling Access to the Media for All

Authors: Cristina Bachmeier, Institute for European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 02/12/2014

When it comes to barriers to accessing information and to culture for people with disabilities, the concept becomes immediately multifaceted. Depending on how content as such is conceived, whether it is a library with stairs before an entrance door or an immaterial file requiring the command of additional technological equipment, the concept of a barrier may take on different meanings and require the use of different tools.  More


IRIS Plus 2014-2: Media in the Courtroom

Authors: Andrei Richter, Faculty of Journalism, Lomonosov Moscow State University

Published: 01/09/2014

The model of separation of powers (legislature, executive and judiciary) in its different declinations forms the basis for the political structure of most democratic states in the world. Not formally one of these powers, the press is nevertheless often called “the Fourth Estate” or “the fourth branch of government”, since it provides information to the people on matters of public concern and thereby acts as a guarantee that these state powers do not abuse their prerogatives.  More


IRIS Plus 2007-5: A Post-Soviet Perspective on Licensing Television and Radio

Authors: Andrei Richter, Moscow Media Law and Policy Center (MMLPC)

Published: 01/08/2007

This IRIS plus gives an overview of the different legal frameworks for licensing broadcasting in countries of the former Soviet Union, which all share the experience of a relatively recent launching of licensing systems.  More


IRIS Plus 2008-2: Media Windows in Flux Challenges for Audiovisual Media Chronology

Authors: Martin Kuhr, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/04/2008

This IRIS plus does not deal with economic considerations, but with the legal framework on which an economic strategy, however it is chosen, must be built. The author begins by explaining how rules on media chronology have developed. On this basis, it is easy to see who defines the media windows according to which rules and why there are different models. The author also points out that media windows can have competition law implications that extend beyond the question, "Who gets which window?"  More


IRIS Plus 2008-6: Progress in the Must-offer Debate? Exclusivity in Media and Communication

Authors: Alexander Scheuer/Sebastian Schweda, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/10/2008

This IRIS plus looks at the various dimensions of exclusivity in media and communication. This IRIS plus considers the current debate on whether the obligation to transmit (must-carry) certain content should be replaced or at least supplemented by an obligation to offer such content (must-offer). The first legislative steps have already been taken in this direction. The article examines this question particularly with regard to the assessment under competition law of such a paradigm change, but also in view of the tension between competition law and copyright law.  More


IRIS Plus 2009-3: An Introduction to Music Rights for Film and Television Production

Authors: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/05/2009

More often than one might expect, basic issues concerning music rights are unknown territory for producers of music works, film composers and musicians. Reading this IRIS plus is a first step towards understanding the complex legal matter.  More


Search results :

33 available article(s)
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. Page 3
  4. 4

Sélection de pays

 

IRIS Plus 2012-5: Must-carry : Renaissance ou réforme ?

Auteurs: Nico van Eijk et Bart van der Sloot, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/09/2012

Le 11 juillet 2012, le Tribunale Amministrativo Regionale per il Lazio, un tribunal administratif italien de Rome, a rendu une décision dans une affaire impliquant le radiodiffuseur public italien RAI (TAR Lazio Decision n° 6320). Il a estimé que la RAI avait enfreint les obligations issues de sa charte en cryptant le signal de ses chaînes de télévision gratuites, empêchant ainsi Sky Italia de les reprendre sur sa plateforme.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2012-6: La protection des mineurs et les contenus audiovisuels à la demande

Auteurs: Alexander Scheuer et Cristina Bachmeier, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/11/2012

Les services de contenus audiovisuels à la demande sont de plus en plus appréciés par le public. Selon Matthew Glotzbach, directeur européen de YouTube, l'une des plateformes les plus connues au monde, ce service enregistre actuellement 800 millions d'utilisateurs par mois, qui mettent en ligne sur la plateforme 72 heures de vidéos par minute et visionnent au total plus de 4 milliards d'heures de vidéos par mois (source : http://www.heise.de/newsticker/meldung/Medienwoche-Sender-und-Google-kaempfen-um-die-TV-Hoheit-1697883.html). Comme en atteste le premier rapport de la Commission sur la mise en oeuvre de la directive « Services de médias audiovisuels » (COM (2012) 203 fi nal), il existe une grande diversité d'offres de vidéo à la demande (VoD), dont, notamment, les services de télévision de rattrapage, qui permettent à l'utilisateur d'accéder à certains contenus audiovisuels sur le site internet des radiodiffuseurs pendant une courte période (sept jours en général) suivant leur diffusion à la télévision. Parallèlement, les programmes sont mis à disposition en permanence, ou du moins sur de plus longues périodes, sur les médiathèques des radiodiffuseurs. Ces services sont généralement gratuits, car les fournisseurs, en particulier les fournisseurs privés, les financent au moyen des recettes générées par les communications commerciales.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2013-1: La transition numérique

Auteurs: Andrei Richter, Faculté de journalisme, université d'Etat de Moscou

Publié: 01/02/2013

Le rapport de la Commission européenne sur le marché des télécommunications et l'évolution de la règlementation correspondante (voir également IRIS 2012-9/8) décrit, entre autres, le statu quo de l'introduction de la télévision numérique dans les Etats membres de l'UE. Selon le point 5.3.2 de ce rapport, publié le 18 juin 2012, on pouvait établir à cette date qu'au sein de l'UE, seules la Bulgarie, la Pologne, la Hongrie, la Roumanie et la Grèce ne termineraient pas le processus de numérisation dans les délais impartis, à savoir fin 2012.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2013-4: Qu’est-ce qu’un service à la demande ?

Auteurs: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/09/2013

Peu d'auteurs ont abordé le thème du changement avec autant de talent que Bob Dylan dans sa chanson « The Times They Are A-Changin ». Bien que cette chanson ait été écrite à un moment particulier du XXe siècle, son message, universel, reste pertinent quelle que soit l'époque considérée. En effet, les querelles entre anciens et modernes reviennent comme un leitmotiv dans l'histoire de l'humanité. Ainsi la chanson de Dylan s'applique parfaitement à l'ère internet : alors que d'anciens géants des médias sont aux prises avec des développements technologiques constants, de nouvelles entreprises en ligne, lancées par des adolescents depuis des garages ou des universités, sont en train de conquérir le monde. Le fossé générationnel évoqué par Dylan apparaît clairement lorsque des parents estiment que ce que font leurs enfants sur internet, comme le dit la chanson, « échappe à leur contrôle ».  Plus


IRIS Plus 2014-3: Permettre à chacun d’accéder aux médias

Auteurs: Cristina Bachmeier, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 02/12/2014

Les obstacles à l’accessibilité de l’information et de la culture pour les personnes souffrant d’un handicap sont une question éminemment complexe. La notion même d’obstacle peut revêtir des signifi cations diverses et requérir la mise en oeuvre de différents moyens, selon qu’il s’agit par exemple d’un escalier conduisant à la porte d’entrée d’une bibliothèque ou d’un fi chier dématérialisé nécessitant la maîtrise d’un outil technologique supplémentaire.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2014-2: Les médias en salle d’audience

Auteurs: Andrei Richter, Faculté de journalisme, Université d’Etat de Moscou Lomonossov

Publié: 01/09/2014

Le régime de séparation des pouvoirs (législatif, exécutif et judiciaire) dans ses différentes déclinaisons constitue la base de la structure politique de la plupart des Etats démocratiques. Sans être formellement l’un de ces pouvoirs, la presse est néanmoins souvent désignée comme le « quatrième pouvoir » ou « la quatrième branche du gouvernement », car elle fournit à la population des informations sur les questions d’intérêt public et garantit ainsi que les pouvoirs de l’Etat n’abusent pas de leurs compétences.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2007-5: L'octroi des licences télévisuelles et radiophoniques dans l'espace postsoviétique : état des lieux

Auteurs: Andrei Richter, Centre de droit et de politique des médias de Moscou (CDPMM)

Publié: 01/08/2007

Cet IRIS plus propose une vue d'ensemble des différents cadres juridiques présidant à l'octroi de licences de radiodiffusion dans les pays de l'ancienne Union soviétique, qui ont tous en commun une mise en place relativement récente de tels systèmes d'attribution.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2008-2: La chronologie des médias en pleine évolution - enjeux et défis

Auteurs: Martin Kuhr, avocat, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/04/2008

Le présent IRIS plus s'intéresse moins aux aspects économiques qu'aux cadres juridiques sur lesquels doit s'appuyer toute stratégie d'exploitation. L'auteur se penche sur l'historique des textes réglementant la chronologie des médias et observe leur évolution au fil du temps. Sur cette toile de fond se dessinent les acteurs et les outils de ce marché. Qui définit la chronologie des médias ? Quelles dispositions sont concernées ? Pourquoi existe-t-il différents modèles ? L'auteur montre aussi que la chronologie des médias et le droit de la concurrence peuvent interférer au-delà de la simple question : « Pour qui s'ouvre cette fenêtre ? »  Plus


IRIS Plus 2008-6: Des avancées dans le débat sur le «must-offer» ? L'exclusivité dans les médias et la communication

Auteurs: Alexander Scheuer/Sebastian Schweda, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/10/2008

La présente publication se saisit d'un débat actuel : celui de savoir si l'obligation de distribution de contenus précis (« must-carry ») doit être remplacée par une obligation d'offrir certains contenus (« must-offer »), ou tout du moins être complétée par un dispositif de ce type. Il existe d'ores et déjà une approche législative allant dans ce sens. Cet article étudie notamment l'impact d'un tel changement de paradigme du point de vue du droit de la concurrence, mais s'intéresse aussi aux tensions qui existent entre droit de la concurrence et droit d'auteur.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2009-3: Introduction aux droits musicaux dans les productions cinématographiques et audiovisuelles

Auteurs: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/05/2009

Il arrive, plus souvent qu'on ne pourrait le croire, que les producteurs d'oeuvres musicales, les compositeurs de film et les musiciens ne connaissent pas les fondamentaux des droits de la musique. En lisant cet IRIS plus le premier pas est fait pour en comprendre la complexité.  Plus


Résultat de la recherche :

33 correspondant(s)
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. Page 3
  4. 4