EU legal framework

 

IRIS Plus 2003-2: European Copyright Law and the Audiovisual Media: Are We Moving Towards Cross-Sectoral Regulation?

Authors: Jan Peter Müßig & Alexander Scheuer, Institute for European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken / Brussels

Published: 01/04/2003

This article explores the system of European copyright law as it applies to the audiovisual media. It discusses the aims of copyright law and how that law is affected by digitalisation, then goes on to ask whether we can identify a trend towards cross-sectoral regulation. Finally, taking the example of collecting societies, it examines how tools for the practical implementation of copyright law fit into the existing system.  More


IRIS Plus 2004-2: Sport as Reflected in European Media Law Part I

Authors: Alexander Scheuer/Peter Strothmann, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/03/2004

Questions concerning the basic principles, origins, ownership, sale and acquisition of rights to sports events are uppermost in a whole range of related legal issues, which are tackled in this edition of IRIS plus. However, legislative provisions on broadcasting, dissemination and content are also extremely important. These issues are discussed in IRIS plus 2004-3.  More


IRIS Plus 2004-3: Sport as Reflected in European Media Law Part II

Authors: Alexander Scheuer/Peter Strothmann, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/05/2004

The main theme of this IRIS plus is the regulatory approach to the questions of exclusivity and the content of sports programmes – matters of prime commercial importance to broadcasting organisations.  More


IRIS Plus 2010-5: New Services and Protection of Broadcasters in Copyright Law

Authors: Anne Yliniva-Hoffmann/Peter Matzneller, Institute for European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/10/2010

A European Audiovisual Observatory publication had already investigated one aspect of the debate in autumn 2004. In IRIS plus “The Legal Protection of Broadcast Signals”, Lucie Guibault and Roy Melzer described in detail current provisions for the international protection of broadcast signals. Due to the lack of a successful conclusion to the WIPO negotiations, this snapshot from 2004 has remained largely unchanged. Therefore, a description of the legal protection of broadcast signals can, as before, be found in this IRIS plus, which can be downloaded free of charge from http://www.obs.coe.int/oea_publ/iris/iris_plus/ iplus10_2004.pdf .  More


IRIS Plus 2011-4: Who Pays for Private Copying?

Authors: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/06/2011

Triangular relationships are not only a challenge in human life but also in legal settings. In the case of private copying levies, the three points of the triangle are the creators of works, legally acting copyists and copyright pirates. Their interaction is to some extent, and possibly not suffi ciently, guided by law.  More


IRIS Plus 2012-2: The Lifespan for Copyright of Audiovisual Works

Authors: Christina Angelopoulos, Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/03/2012

Intellectual property rights are one of the tools, if not the tool for rewarding and stimulating creativity. They are attached to many assets which form part of our cultural heritage but which cannot be tagged physically as personal property, as could be, for example, paintings or sculptures. Thanks to intellectual property rights, authors and other rightsholders can cash in on their creative contributions to the making of tangible and intangible audiovisual products in the same way in which others derive money from selling the physical carrier of audiovisual works that they own.  More


IRIS Plus 2012-4: Exclusive Rights and Short Reporting

Authors: Peter Matzneller, Institute for European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/06/2012

2012 is often called a year of sports as both the Euro 2012 football championships and the Olympic Games will be held. Of course, there will be or have been world championships in other sports, such as the biathlon, ski flying, figure skating, indoor athletics, table tennis, windsurfing, billiards, cycling, badminton, ice hockey, speedway, shooting, orienteering, rowing, baseball, canoeing, wrestling, the triathlon, jujutsu, karate, dancing and swimming. To these may be added world title fights or matches, for example in boxing or chess, numerous European championships in various sports and even more numerous national championships, ATP tournaments, Formula I racing, FIS ski racing, football Champions League matches, etc.  More


IRIS Plus 2013-6: How Private is Personal Data?

Authors: Dr Martin Rupp and Mag. Peter Matzneller, Institute for European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/05/2014

There is an uneasy relationship between copyright and data protection, the main reason being that the legal rules governing both these areas are based on a potentially conflicting idea. There is a clash of objectives between copyright law and data protection law, but this does not immediately become apparent when the intention of the legislators in each case is compared.  More


IRIS Plus 2014-4: The Influence of New Technologies on Copyright

Authors: Lucie Guibault and João Pedro Quintais, Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam

Published: 04/02/2015

Technology affects economics and economics affects regulation. This is generally how the chain operates. The rules usually come later, and sometimes they may become outdated.  More


IRIS Plus 2007-1: Digital Rights Management Systems (DRMs): Recent Developments in Europe

Authors: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/02/2007

This article provides an overview on recent developments concerning DRMs in Europe, with the aim of bringing some clarity to the relevant legal issues.  More


Search results :

26 available article(s)
  1. 1
  2. Page 2
  3. 3

Cadre juridique (UE)

 

IRIS Plus 2003-2: Le droit d'auteur européen et l'audiovisuel : une évolution vers plus d'horizontalité ?

Auteurs: Jan Peter Müßig & Alexander Scheuer, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/04/2003

Le présent article s'intéresse à la systématique du droit d'auteur européen et à ses applications dans les médias audiovisuels. Il expose l'objectif du droit d'auteur, analyse l'impact de la numérisation sur le droit d'auteur, et examine si l'encadrement réglementaire de ce droit tend vers une approche intersectorielle. Les sociétés de gestion collective sont prises comme exemple pour étudier la mise en place des instruments juridiques opérationnels dans le système préexistant.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2004-2: Le sport à la lumière du droit européen des médias 1ère partie

Auteurs: Alexander Scheuer/Peter Strothmann, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/03/2004

Les principes, la naissance, la détention, la cession et l'acquisition des droits sur les grands événements sportifs font l'objet de réflexions qui aboutissent à des questionnements d'ordre juridique. C'est le sujet du présent IRIS plus. Mais il est aussi des règles tout aussi essentielles sur la diffusion, la communication, les contenus retransmis : elles vous sont exposées dans IRIS plus 2004-3.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2004-3: Le sport à la lumière du droit européen des médias 2e partie

Auteurs: Alexander Scheuer et Peter Strothmann, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/05/2004

La présente édition d'IRIS plus analyse les textes portant sur l'exclusivité et sur le contenu des émissions sportives qui jouent un rôle économique majeur dans la vie des organismes de radiodiffusion télévisuelle.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2010-5: Les nouveaux services et la protection des radiodiffuseurs en droit d’auteur

Auteurs: Anne Yliniva-Hoffmann/Peter Matzneller, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/10/2010

« A chacun sa chance ! » ou, comme disaient les Latins : « Hodie mihi, cras tibi . » Ceci pourrait-il s’appliquer aux radiodiffuseurs qui espèrent fermement que les discussions reprises récemment au Conseil de l’Europe sur la protection de leurs intérêts aboutissent enfin à garantir le niveau de protection qu’ils réclament depuis si longtemps pour leurs programmes ?  Plus


IRIS Plus 2011-4: Qui paie pour la copie privée ?

Auteurs: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/06/2011

Les relations à trois sont toujours diffi ciles à gérer, aussi bien au niveau personnel qu’au niveau juridique. Dans le cas de la redevance pour copie privée, les trois pointes du triangle sont les créateurs des œuvres, les copistes agissant dans la légalité et les pirates du droit d’auteur. Jusqu’à un certain point, qui n’est sans doute pas suffi sant, leurs relations mutuelles sont régies par la loi.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2012-2: La durée de vie du droit d’auteur d’une œuvre audiovisuelle

Auteurs: Christina Angelopoulos, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/03/2012

Les droits de propriété intellectuelle sont un des instruments, voire le seul, permettant de récompenser et de stimuler la créativité. S'ils sont rattachés à de nombreux biens qui forment une partie de notre patrimoine culturel, ils ne peuvent pas être associés physiquement à un bien personnel comme pourraient l'être, par exemple, une peinture ou une sculpture. Grâce aux droits de propriété intellectuelle, les auteurs et d'autres titulaires de droits peuvent tirer profit de leurs contributions créatives à l'élaboration de produits audiovisuels tangibles et intangibles de la même façon que d'autres gagnent de l'argent en vendant le support physique des oeuvres audiovisuelles qu'ils possèdent.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2012-4: Les droits exclusifs et les brefs reportages d’actualité

Auteurs: Peter Matzneller, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/06/2012

L'année 2012 est annoncée à juste titre comme l'Année du Sport, sachant qu'elle nous offrira à la fois une Coupe d'Europe de football et des jeux Olympiques d'été. Cette année verra également, si ce n'est déjà fait, se dérouler des championnats du monde dans de nombreuses autres disciplines, notamment le biathlon, le saut à ski, le patinage artistique, l'athlétisme en salle, le tennis de table, la planche à voile, le billard, le cyclisme, le badminton, le hockey sur glace, la course de moto, le tir, la course d'orientation, l'aviron, le baseball, le canoë, la lutte, le triathlon, le jiu-jitsu, le karaté, la danse et la natation. Sans oublier les championnats du monde de boxe et d'échecs, de nombreux championnats d'Europe dans divers sports et une multitude de compétitions nationales, le tournoi de tennis ATP, les courses de Formule 1, la Coupe du monde de ski alpin FIS, le tournoi de la Ligue des Champions de football…  Plus


IRIS Plus 2013-6: Les données à caractère personnel sont-elles vraiment privées ?

Auteurs: Martin Rupp et Peter Matzneller, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/05/2014

La relation entre le droit d'auteur et la protection des données est de nature conflictuelle. Ceci s'explique en premier lieu par le fait que ces deux dispositifs juridiques reposent sur un concept virtuellement contradictoire. Il existe un conflit d'objectif entre le droit d'auteur et le droit de la protection des données. Or, ce conflit n'apparaît pas, à première vue, lors de l'examen comparatif des intentions respectives du législateur.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2014-4: L’influence des nouvelles technologies sur le droit d’auteur

Auteurs: Lucie Guibault et João Pedro Quintais, Institut du droit de l’information (IViR), Université d’Amsterdam

Publié: 04/02/2015

Les avancées de la technologie se répercutent sur l’économie qui, à son tour, a un impact sur la réglementation. C’est généralement de cette façon que s’enchaînent les choses. Les règles arrivent habituellement en dernier et, de ce fait, peuvent devenir obsolètes.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2007-1: Systèmes de gestion des droits numériques : dernières évolutions en Europe

Auteurs: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/02/2007

Cet article présente les grandes lignes des dernières évolutions concernant les systèmes DRM en Europe, afin d'éclaircir autant que possible les questions juridiques qui se posent.  Plus


Résultat de la recherche :

26 correspondant(s)
  1. 1
  2. Page 2
  3. 3