Copyright

 

IRIS Plus 2010-1: Digital Television

Authors: Andrei Richter, Moscow Media Law and Policy Center, and Taras Shevchenko, Media Law Institute, Kiev

Published: 01/02/2010

Imagine turning on your television and not receiving any signal. For an increasing number of television viewers this could have been the case had they not re-equipped themselves for digital television. To mention only the early birds: Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Finland and Sweden completed the transition to digital terrestrial television between 2006 and 2007. Consumers living in these countries had no choice but to follow suit lest they feared to lose what is still one of – if not– the most used audiovisual media service. If everything goes according to the expectation of the EU Commission, almost all EU member states will meet the 2012 EU target for switch-off and, hence, more digital television equipment will find its homes.  More


IRIS Plus 2009-5: SatCab Revisited: The Past, Present and Future of the Satellite and Cable Directive

Authors: Prof. P. Bernt Hugenholtz, Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/08/2009

In this article, Bernt Hugenholtz explores not only the history, goals and application of the Satellite and Cable Directive but also the question of how its future might look like.  More


IRIS Plus 2009-3: An Introduction to Music Rights for Film and Television Production

Authors: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/05/2009

More often than one might expect, basic issues concerning music rights are unknown territory for producers of music works, film composers and musicians. Reading this IRIS plus is a first step towards understanding the complex legal matter.  More


IRIS Special 2009 - Creativity Comes at a Price

Authors: Susanne NIKOLTCHEV (Ed.), European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 12/03/2009

The signatories to the European Social Charter underline in its Preamble the fact that the standard of living and the social-well being of their populations are key to safeguarding human rights. In all likelihood they were similarly aware of how central this is for the prospering of their markets.  More


IRIS Plus 2009-2: Filtering the Internet for Copyrighted Content in Europe

Authors: Christina Angelopoulos, Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/03/2009

One issue that has been frequently discussed in the IRIS plus series is the unauthorised supply of copyright protected works via the Internet. The resulting threat of copyright infringements could, at least partly, be prevented through the use of Internet filters, an option that forms the subject of this latest edition of IRIS plus.  More


IRIS Plus 2009-1: The Legal Status of the Producer of Audiovisual Works in the Russian Federation

Authors: Dmitry Golovanov, Moscow Media Law and Policy Centre

Published: 01/02/2009

This IRIS plus describes important rules of Russian copyright law, focusing on the legal status of the producer of audiovisual works.  More


IRIS Plus 2008-6: Progress in the Must-offer Debate? Exclusivity in Media and Communication

Authors: Alexander Scheuer/Sebastian Schweda, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/10/2008

This IRIS plus looks at the various dimensions of exclusivity in media and communication. This IRIS plus considers the current debate on whether the obligation to transmit (must-carry) certain content should be replaced or at least supplemented by an obligation to offer such content (must-offer). The first legislative steps have already been taken in this direction. The article examines this question particularly with regard to the assessment under competition law of such a paradigm change, but also in view of the tension between competition law and copyright law.  More


IRIS Plus 2008-3: User-Generated Content Services and Copyright

Authors: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/05/2008

This IRIS plus looks at the EU and US American copyright framework concerning UGC and how it has translated into case law. Suspecting that neither the pending revision of the relevant EU e-commerce Directive nor further court decisions might settle the matter entirely, the article also explores other options for improving the relationship between UGC providers and copyright owners.  More


IRIS Plus 2008-2: Media Windows in Flux Challenges for Audiovisual Media Chronology

Authors: Martin Kuhr, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/04/2008

This IRIS plus does not deal with economic considerations, but with the legal framework on which an economic strategy, however it is chosen, must be built. The author begins by explaining how rules on media chronology have developed. On this basis, it is easy to see who defines the media windows according to which rules and why there are different models. The author also points out that media windows can have competition law implications that extend beyond the question, "Who gets which window?"  More


IRIS Plus 2008-1: Transformation of Authors' Rights and Neighbouring Rights in Russia

Authors: Dmitry Golovanov, Moscow Media Law and Policy Centre

Published: 01/02/2008

In this IRIS plus Dmitry Golovanov gives a clear albeit colourful picture of the problems, development and current situation of the institution of Russian copyright law.  More


Search results :

52 available article(s)
  1. First
  2. ...
  3. 2
  4. Page 3
  5. 4
  6. 5
  7. ...
  8. Last

Droit d'auteur

 

IRIS Plus 2010-1: La télévision numérique

Auteurs: Andrei Richter, Centre de droit et de politique des médias et Taras Shevchenko, Institut du droit des médias, Kiev

Publié: 01/02/2010

Imaginez allumer votre télévision et ne capter aucun signal. Un nombre croissant de téléspectateurs ont pu se retrouver dans cette situation faute de s’être ré-équipés à temps pour la télévision numérique. Le Luxembourg, les Pays-Bas, la Finlande et la Suède, pour ne citer que les premiers, ont accompli entre 2006 et 2007 leur transition vers la télévision numérique terrestre. Les téléspectateurs de ces pays n’ont pas eu le choix : il a fallu suivre cette évolution, sous peine d’être privés de ce qui demeure l’un des (sinon le) services de médias audiovisuels les plus utilisés. Si tout se passe conformément aux attentes de la Commission européenne, la quasi- totalité des Etats membres de l’UE respecteront la date cible de 2012 fixée par l’Union pour l’arrêt de la diffusion de la télévision en analogique ; des équipements supplémentaires seront donc acquis en vue du passage à la télévision numérique.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2009-5: Nouvelle lecture de la Directive Satellite-Câble : passé, présent et avenir

Auteurs: Professeur P. Bernt Hugenholtz, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/08/2009

Dans cet article, Bernt Hugenholtz explore non seulement l'historique, les objectifs et la mise en oeuvre de la Directive Satellite-Câble, mais s'interroge aussi sur l'avenir de ce texte.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2009-3: Introduction aux droits musicaux dans les productions cinématographiques et audiovisuelles

Auteurs: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/05/2009

Il arrive, plus souvent qu'on ne pourrait le croire, que les producteurs d'oeuvres musicales, les compositeurs de film et les musiciens ne connaissent pas les fondamentaux des droits de la musique. En lisant cet IRIS plus le premier pas est fait pour en comprendre la complexité.  Plus


IRIS Spécial 2009 - La créativité a un prix

Auteurs: Susanne NIKOLTCHEV (Ed.), European Audiovisual Observatory

Publié: 12/03/2009

Les signataires de la Charte sociale européenne ont souligné dans son préambule le fait que le niveau de vie et le bien-être social de leurs populations sont indispensables à la sauvegarde des droits de l’homme. Selon toute probabilité, ils avaient également conscience du rôle central joué par ces deux éléments dans le développement de leurs marchés.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2009-2: Filtrage des contenus protégés par le droit d'auteur sur Internet en Europe

Auteurs: Christina Angelopoulos, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR) de l'Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/03/2009

La question de la diffusion sans autorisation de contenus protégés par le droit d'auteur sur Internet a déjà été abordée à plusieurs reprises dans le cadre d'IRIS plus Collection. L'une des solutions permettant d'éviter, au moins partiellement, les contrefaçons qui en résultent consiste à mettre en place des filtres Internet. C'est le thème choisi pour ce numéro d'IRIS plus.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2009-1: Le statut juridique du producteur d'oeuvres audiovisuelles en Fédération de Russie

Auteurs: Dmitry Golovanov, Centre de droit et de politique des médias de Moscou

Publié: 01/02/2009

Cet IRIS plus vous propose de replonger dans les principales règles de la législation russe sur le droit d'auteur, en se concentrant sur le statut juridique du producteur d'oeuvres audiovisuelles.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2008-6: Des avancées dans le débat sur le «must-offer» ? L'exclusivité dans les médias et la communication

Auteurs: Alexander Scheuer/Sebastian Schweda, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/10/2008

La présente publication se saisit d'un débat actuel : celui de savoir si l'obligation de distribution de contenus précis (« must-carry ») doit être remplacée par une obligation d'offrir certains contenus (« must-offer »), ou tout du moins être complétée par un dispositif de ce type. Il existe d'ores et déjà une approche législative allant dans ce sens. Cet article étudie notamment l'impact d'un tel changement de paradigme du point de vue du droit de la concurrence, mais s'intéresse aussi aux tensions qui existent entre droit de la concurrence et droit d'auteur.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2008-3: Les plateformes de contenus générés par l'utilisateur et le droit d'auteur

Auteurs: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/05/2008

Ce numéro d'IRIS plus étudie le cadre juridique européen et nord-américain des droits d'auteur en ce qui concerne les contenus générés par l'utilisateur et comment celui-ci se reflète dans la jurisprudence. Partant du constat que ni la révision en cours de la Directive européenne sur le commerce électronique, ni les décisions de justice qui résultent de cette directive ne seront à même de régler entièrement la question, ce compte-rendu explore également d'autres options susceptibles d'améliorer les relations entre hébergeurs et détenteurs de droits.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2008-2: La chronologie des médias en pleine évolution - enjeux et défis

Auteurs: Martin Kuhr, avocat, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/04/2008

Le présent IRIS plus s'intéresse moins aux aspects économiques qu'aux cadres juridiques sur lesquels doit s'appuyer toute stratégie d'exploitation. L'auteur se penche sur l'historique des textes réglementant la chronologie des médias et observe leur évolution au fil du temps. Sur cette toile de fond se dessinent les acteurs et les outils de ce marché. Qui définit la chronologie des médias ? Quelles dispositions sont concernées ? Pourquoi existe-t-il différents modèles ? L'auteur montre aussi que la chronologie des médias et le droit de la concurrence peuvent interférer au-delà de la simple question : « Pour qui s'ouvre cette fenêtre ? »  Plus


IRIS Plus 2008-1: L'évolution des droits d'auteur et des droits voisins en Russie

Auteurs: Dmitry Golovanov, Centre de droit et de politique des médias, Moscou

Publié: 01/02/2008

Dans cet IRIS plus Dmitry Golovanov brosse un tableau précis et vivant des problèmes, des évolutions, et de la situation actuelle de l'institution juridique russe relative au droit d'auteur.  Plus


Résultat de la recherche :

52 correspondant(s)
  1. Premier
  2. ...
  3. 2
  4. Page 3
  5. 4
  6. 5
  7. ...
  8. Dernier