On-demand services

 

IRIS Plus 2011-3: Media Literacy

Authors: Tarlach McGonagle, Institute for Information Law (IViR), Faculty of Law, University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/05/2011

Continuous learning is a well established concept to guarantee that graduation from school or university does not mark the end of studying the subjects related to one’s profession. The more an area of knowledge is apt to change the bigger the need to stay on one’s toes. Training on the job is certainly another way to handle the challenge but depending on the sophistication of the issues it may turn out to be a dead end.  More


IRIS Plus 2011-1: A Landmark for Mass Media in Russia

Authors: Andrei Richter, Moscow Media Law and Policy Centre

Published: 06/02/2011

When on 15 June 2010 the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation adopted Resolution No. 16 “On the Judicial Practice Related to the Statute of the Russian Federation ‘On the Mass Media’”, the first international voice applauding this step was that of Dunja Mijatovic, the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media, who called it a “landmark resolution” and “a commendable effort to bring Russian court practice in line with international media freedom standards”.  More


IRIS Plus 2010-5: New Services and Protection of Broadcasters in Copyright Law

Authors: Anne Yliniva-Hoffmann/Peter Matzneller, Institute for European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/10/2010

A European Audiovisual Observatory publication had already investigated one aspect of the debate in autumn 2004. In IRIS plus “The Legal Protection of Broadcast Signals”, Lucie Guibault and Roy Melzer described in detail current provisions for the international protection of broadcast signals. Due to the lack of a successful conclusion to the WIPO negotiations, this snapshot from 2004 has remained largely unchanged. Therefore, a description of the legal protection of broadcast signals can, as before, be found in this IRIS plus, which can be downloaded free of charge from http://www.obs.coe.int/oea_publ/iris/iris_plus/ iplus10_2004.pdf .  More


IRIS Plus 2009-5: SatCab Revisited: The Past, Present and Future of the Satellite and Cable Directive

Authors: Prof. P. Bernt Hugenholtz, Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/08/2009

In this article, Bernt Hugenholtz explores not only the history, goals and application of the Satellite and Cable Directive but also the question of how its future might look like.  More


IRIS Plus 2009-4: The Public Service Remit and the New Media

Authors: Meike Ridinger, LL.M. (Eur.), Institute for European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/06/2009

This IRIS plus discusses the involvement of public service broadcasting in the new media. The author examines to what extent and under what conditions the public service remit covers such an involvement and where the limits to legitimate state funding currently lie. She therefore goes in some detail into EC law and mentions numerous examples of national provisions in various countries.  More


IRIS Plus 2009-2: Filtering the Internet for Copyrighted Content in Europe

Authors: Christina Angelopoulos, Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/03/2009

One issue that has been frequently discussed in the IRIS plus series is the unauthorised supply of copyright protected works via the Internet. The resulting threat of copyright infringements could, at least partly, be prevented through the use of Internet filters, an option that forms the subject of this latest edition of IRIS plus.  More


IRIS Plus 2008-4: The Promotion of Cultural Diversity via New Media Technologies: An Introduction to the Challenges of Operationalisation

Authors: Tarlach McGonagle, Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/06/2008

This IRIS plus presupposes that it is important to clarify potential meanings of cultural diversity and arising concepts if we wish to experience cultural diversity in the form of concrete results. The need for clarification becomes more pressing with a view to technological advances which already by themselves, and all the more in tandem with vague concepts, challenge existing legal frameworks. This IRIS plus is a first and very useful step on a long way to go.  More


IRIS Plus 2008-3: User-Generated Content Services and Copyright

Authors: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/05/2008

This IRIS plus looks at the EU and US American copyright framework concerning UGC and how it has translated into case law. Suspecting that neither the pending revision of the relevant EU e-commerce Directive nor further court decisions might settle the matter entirely, the article also explores other options for improving the relationship between UGC providers and copyright owners.  More


IRIS Special 2007 - Legal Aspects of Video on Demand

Authors: Susanne NIKOLTCHEV (Ed.), European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 17/12/2007

Whenever a “new” audiovisual service becomes established, questions are inevitably asked about what legal norms govern it and whether those norms take sufficient account of all legitimate needs and interests. As far as video-on-demand (VoD) is concerned, it is clear that the “Television without Frontiers” Directive (89/552/EEC, last amended by Directive 97/36/EC) does not apply.  More


IRIS Plus 2007-6: Online Games from the Standpoint of Media and Copyright Law

Authors: Paul Göttlich, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/10/2007

It is clear from this edition of IRIS plus that an unambiguous legal framework for online games has yet to be established, so these issues will remain topical. Paul Göttlich's article also usefully documents the rules that definitely can be applied to online games already.  More


Search results :

51 available article(s)
  1. First
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. Page 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Services à la demande

 

IRIS Plus 2011-3: L’éducation aux médias

Auteurs: Tarlach McGonagle, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Faculté de droit, Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/05/2011

La formation continue est un concept bien établi permettant de poursuivre l’étude des disciplines liées à l’exercice d’une profession au-delà de l’obtention d’un diplôme scolaire ou universitaire. Plus une discipline évolue, plus il est nécessaire de se former en permanence. La formation sur le tas permet également de relever ce défi, mais en fonction du niveau de sophistication des connaissances requises, cette solution peut s’avérer inefficace.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2011-1: Une date historique pour les médias de masse en Russie

Publié: 06/02/2011

Lorsque le 15 juin 2010, la Cour suprême de la Fédération de Russie a adopté la résolution n° 16 « sur la pratique judiciaire liée à la loi de la Fédération de Russie ‘sur les médias de masse’ », la première personnalité internationale à applaudir cette initiative fut Dunja Mijatovic, Représentante de l’OSCE pour la liberté des médias, considérant qu’il s’agissait d’une « résoluti on importante » et d’un « eff ort louable pour aligner la pratique judiciaire russe sur les normes internationales en matière de liberté des médias ».  Plus


IRIS Plus 2010-5: Les nouveaux services et la protection des radiodiffuseurs en droit d’auteur

Auteurs: Anne Yliniva-Hoffmann/Peter Matzneller, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/10/2010

« A chacun sa chance ! » ou, comme disaient les Latins : « Hodie mihi, cras tibi . » Ceci pourrait-il s’appliquer aux radiodiffuseurs qui espèrent fermement que les discussions reprises récemment au Conseil de l’Europe sur la protection de leurs intérêts aboutissent enfin à garantir le niveau de protection qu’ils réclament depuis si longtemps pour leurs programmes ?  Plus


IRIS Plus 2009-5: Nouvelle lecture de la Directive Satellite-Câble : passé, présent et avenir

Auteurs: Professeur P. Bernt Hugenholtz, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/08/2009

Dans cet article, Bernt Hugenholtz explore non seulement l'historique, les objectifs et la mise en oeuvre de la Directive Satellite-Câble, mais s'interroge aussi sur l'avenir de ce texte.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2009-4: La mission de service public et les nouveaux médias

Auteurs: Meike Ridinger, LL.M. (Eur.), Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/06/2009

Ce numéro d'IRIS plus est consacré à l'engagement des radiodiffuseurs du service public dans les nouveaux médias. L'auteur étudie dans quelle mesure et dans quelles conditions la mission de service public recouvre un tel engagement, ainsi que les limites actuelles d'un financement public légitime. Elle procède à une analyse détaillée du droit communautaire et de nombreuses dispositions nationales de divers pays.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2009-2: Filtrage des contenus protégés par le droit d'auteur sur Internet en Europe

Auteurs: Christina Angelopoulos, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR) de l'Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/03/2009

La question de la diffusion sans autorisation de contenus protégés par le droit d'auteur sur Internet a déjà été abordée à plusieurs reprises dans le cadre d'IRIS plus Collection. L'une des solutions permettant d'éviter, au moins partiellement, les contrefaçons qui en résultent consiste à mettre en place des filtres Internet. C'est le thème choisi pour ce numéro d'IRIS plus.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2008-4: La promotion de la diversité culturelle grâce aux nouvelles technologies des médias : Introduction aux défis opérationnels

Auteurs: Tarlach McGonagle, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/06/2008

Cet IRIS plus part du principe qu'il est important de clarifier les significations que l'on peut donner à la « diversité culturelle » ainsi que les concepts qui en découlent, si nous souhaitons que cette diversité culturelle prenne la forme de résultats concrets. Ce besoin de clarification se fait de plus en plus pressant au vu des avancées technologiques qui, de par leur nature même, bouleversent les cadres législatifs existants – et ce, plus encore lorsqu'elles sont associés à des concepts vagues. Cet IRIS plus est la première étape, nécessaire, d'un long chemin à parcourir.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2008-3: Les plateformes de contenus générés par l'utilisateur et le droit d'auteur

Auteurs: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/05/2008

Ce numéro d'IRIS plus étudie le cadre juridique européen et nord-américain des droits d'auteur en ce qui concerne les contenus générés par l'utilisateur et comment celui-ci se reflète dans la jurisprudence. Partant du constat que ni la révision en cours de la Directive européenne sur le commerce électronique, ni les décisions de justice qui résultent de cette directive ne seront à même de régler entièrement la question, ce compte-rendu explore également d'autres options susceptibles d'améliorer les relations entre hébergeurs et détenteurs de droits.  Plus


IRIS Spécial 2007 - Les aspects juridiques de la vidéo à la demande

Auteurs: Susanne NIKOLTCHEV (Ed.), Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 17/12/2007

À chaque apparition d’un “nouveau” service audiovisuel, une question se pose inévitablement : à quelles normes obéit-il et ces normes tiennent-elles suffisamment compte de tous les besoins et intérêts légitimes ? En ce qui concerne la vidéo à la demande (ci-dessous “VoD”), une chose est évidente, la Directive Télévision sans frontières (89/552/CEE, telle que modifiée par la Directive 97/36/CE) ne s’applique en aucun cas.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2007-6: Les jeux en ligne au regard du droit des médias et du droit d'auteur

Auteurs: Paul Göttlich, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/10/2007

Ce numéro d'IRIS plus montre que le cadre juridique applicable aux jeux en ligne n'est pas encore défini de façon très claire et qu'il va donc être au coeur de nombreux débats à venir. D'autre part, le présent rapport dresse l'inventaire des règles qui sont, dès à présent, applicables. sans ambiguïté aux jeux en ligne.  Plus


Résultat de la recherche :

51 correspondant(s)
  1. Premier
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. Page 4
  5. 5
  6. 6