In the public interest

 

IRIS Plus 2013-2: Open Journalism

Authors: Tarlach McGonagle, Institute for Information Law (IViR), Faculty of Law, University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/04/2013

Publish and be damned? The Duke of Wellington's famous phrase could be used to describe the challenges for regulators dealing with the complex legal issues surrounding open journalism. In the age of Internet and the smart phone, we are ALL potentially journalists capable of generating copy, sound and images. From the rise of blogs which allowed private individuals to publish content on their own platform, to the opening of comments sections at the end of newspaper articles, to the inclusion of user generated films in news reports, the "professional" media have come to absorb user generated content as a supplementary source of content. Nowadays the media actively recruit these "open journalists" in order to tap into an additional source of copy. Clearly, this practice brings with it a new array of societal and consequently legal questions. They are only partly covered by the existing legal frameworks, which were designed for media services with less important user input and less inventive media reach out.  More


IRIS Plus 2013-1: The Digital Switchover

Authors: Andrei Richter, Faculty of Journalism, Moscow State University

Published: 01/02/2013

The European Commission's report on the telecommunications market and regulatory development (see also IRIS 2012-9/8) describes, among other things, the current status of the introduction of digital television in the EU member states. According to section 5.3.2 of the report, at the time of publication (18 June 2012) it was already clear that Bulgaria, Poland, Hungary, Romania and Greece were the only EU member states that would not have completed the digitisation process before the deadline of 31 December 2012.  More


IRIS Plus 2012-6: Protection of Minors and Audiovisual Content On-Demand

Authors: Alexander Scheuer and Cristina Bachmeier, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/11/2012

On-demand services with audiovisual content are continuing to be more and more popular among users. One of the world's best known platforms is no doubt YouTube, which, according to Matthew Glotzbach, the company's EMEA Managing Director, currently has 800 million users a month who upload 72 hours of fi lm material every minute and watch videos totalling 4 billion hours every month (figures quoted from www.heise.de/newsticker/meldung/Medienwoche-Sender-und-Google-kaempfen-um-die-TV-Hoheit-1697883.html). As can be gathered from the European Commission's First Report on the application of the Audiovisual Media Services Directive (COM(2012) 203 fi nal), there are a wide variety of video-on-demand (VoD) services, such as television broadcasters' catch-up TV offerings, which normally enable viewers to access via their websites (a selection of) audiovisual content for up to seven days after it has been aired. In addition, programmes stored on a continuous basis, or at least for a long period, are available from broadcasters' media libraries. In most cases, these services can be used free of charge because private providers in particular fi nance them through revenues from commercial communications.  More


IRIS Plus 2012-5: Must-carry: Renaissance or Reformation?

Authors: Nico van Eijk and Bart van der Sloot, Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/09/2012

On 11 July 2012, the Tribunale Amministrativo Regionale per il Lazio, an Italian administrative court in Rome decided on a case involving the Italian public service broadcaster RAI (TAR Lazio Decision n. 6320). It found RAI guilty of having violated its charter by encrypting its free-to-air TV channels, which made it impossible for Sky Italia to carry RAI channels on its platform.  More


Media and Protection of Minors in France - TV and Cinema

Authors: Mathias Grenier, European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 26/06/2012

This article describes the French regulation on the protection of minors concerning cinematographic and other audiovisual productions.  More


The Protection of Children from Harmful Effects of Films in the United States

Authors: Jonathan Perl, Media Center, New York Law School

Published: 26/06/2012

This article describes the regulation on the protection of minors concerning cinematographic and other audiovisual productions in the United States.  More


IRIS Plus 2012-4: Exclusive Rights and Short Reporting

Authors: Peter Matzneller, Institute for European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/06/2012

2012 is often called a year of sports as both the Euro 2012 football championships and the Olympic Games will be held. Of course, there will be or have been world championships in other sports, such as the biathlon, ski flying, figure skating, indoor athletics, table tennis, windsurfing, billiards, cycling, badminton, ice hockey, speedway, shooting, orienteering, rowing, baseball, canoeing, wrestling, the triathlon, jujutsu, karate, dancing and swimming. To these may be added world title fights or matches, for example in boxing or chess, numerous European championships in various sports and even more numerous national championships, ATP tournaments, Formula I racing, FIS ski racing, football Champions League matches, etc.  More


IRIS Plus 2012-3: The Future of State Aid

Authors: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/04/2012

As every year, May 2012 will see an edition of the Cannes Film Festival along with a new Golden Palm winner. Less in the news but more important for the industry will be the Cannes Film Market, which takes place in parallel. It will allow over 10,000 film industry professionals from over 100 countries to pick from around 4,000 films of which approximately 1,500 will be screened. And whenever films are at the center of an event, the money issue is never far away– including the question as to how states may (or may not) aid the film industry.  More


IRIS Plus 2012-2: The Lifespan for Copyright of Audiovisual Works

Authors: Christina Angelopoulos, Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/03/2012

Intellectual property rights are one of the tools, if not the tool for rewarding and stimulating creativity. They are attached to many assets which form part of our cultural heritage but which cannot be tagged physically as personal property, as could be, for example, paintings or sculptures. Thanks to intellectual property rights, authors and other rightsholders can cash in on their creative contributions to the making of tangible and intangible audiovisual products in the same way in which others derive money from selling the physical carrier of audiovisual works that they own.  More


Die ungarische Regelung für den Schutz der Minderjährigen vor schädlichen Medieninhalten

Authors: Réka Sümegh, European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/01/2012

This article was written in German and is available only in German. It describes the Hungarian regulation on the protection of minors concerning cinematographic and other audiovisual productions.  More


Search results :

81 available article(s)
  1. First
  2. ...
  3. 2
  4. Page 3
  5. 4
  6. 5
  7. ...
  8. Last

Questions d'intérêt public

 

IRIS Plus 2013-2: Journalisme ouvert

Auteurs: Tarlach McGonagle, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Faculté de droit, Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/04/2013

Publiez et soyez damnée ? La célèbre phrase du duc de Wellington décrit parfaitement les défis auxquels se trouvent confrontés les régulateurs chargés des questions juridiques complexes posées par le journalisme ouvert. A l'ère d'internet et des téléphones intelligents, nous sommes TOUS potentiellement des journalistes capables de générer une copie, du son et des images. De l'essor des blogs qui permettent aux particuliers de publier du contenu sur leur propre plateforme, à l'ouverture de sections dédiées aux commentaires à la fin des articles de journaux, en passant par l'inclusion de films générés par les utilisateurs dans les reportages d'actualité, les médias « professionnels » en sont venus à absorber le contenu généré par les utilisateurs comme une source supplémentaire de contenu. De nos jours, les médias recrutent activement ces « journalistes ouverts » afin de puiser dans une source supplémentaire de copie. De toute évidence, cette pratique s'accompagne d'un nouvel éventail de questions sociétales et, par conséquent, juridiques qui ne sont que partiellement couvertes par les cadres juridiques existants, conçus pour des services de médias impliquant une participation moindre des utilisateurs et une portée médiatique moins inventive.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2013-1: La transition numérique

Auteurs: Andrei Richter, Faculté de journalisme, université d'Etat de Moscou

Publié: 01/02/2013

Le rapport de la Commission européenne sur le marché des télécommunications et l'évolution de la règlementation correspondante (voir également IRIS 2012-9/8) décrit, entre autres, le statu quo de l'introduction de la télévision numérique dans les Etats membres de l'UE. Selon le point 5.3.2 de ce rapport, publié le 18 juin 2012, on pouvait établir à cette date qu'au sein de l'UE, seules la Bulgarie, la Pologne, la Hongrie, la Roumanie et la Grèce ne termineraient pas le processus de numérisation dans les délais impartis, à savoir fin 2012.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2012-6: La protection des mineurs et les contenus audiovisuels à la demande

Auteurs: Alexander Scheuer et Cristina Bachmeier, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/11/2012

Les services de contenus audiovisuels à la demande sont de plus en plus appréciés par le public. Selon Matthew Glotzbach, directeur européen de YouTube, l'une des plateformes les plus connues au monde, ce service enregistre actuellement 800 millions d'utilisateurs par mois, qui mettent en ligne sur la plateforme 72 heures de vidéos par minute et visionnent au total plus de 4 milliards d'heures de vidéos par mois (source : http://www.heise.de/newsticker/meldung/Medienwoche-Sender-und-Google-kaempfen-um-die-TV-Hoheit-1697883.html). Comme en atteste le premier rapport de la Commission sur la mise en oeuvre de la directive « Services de médias audiovisuels » (COM (2012) 203 fi nal), il existe une grande diversité d'offres de vidéo à la demande (VoD), dont, notamment, les services de télévision de rattrapage, qui permettent à l'utilisateur d'accéder à certains contenus audiovisuels sur le site internet des radiodiffuseurs pendant une courte période (sept jours en général) suivant leur diffusion à la télévision. Parallèlement, les programmes sont mis à disposition en permanence, ou du moins sur de plus longues périodes, sur les médiathèques des radiodiffuseurs. Ces services sont généralement gratuits, car les fournisseurs, en particulier les fournisseurs privés, les financent au moyen des recettes générées par les communications commerciales.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2012-5: Must-carry : Renaissance ou réforme ?

Auteurs: Nico van Eijk et Bart van der Sloot, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/09/2012

Le 11 juillet 2012, le Tribunale Amministrativo Regionale per il Lazio, un tribunal administratif italien de Rome, a rendu une décision dans une affaire impliquant le radiodiffuseur public italien RAI (TAR Lazio Decision n° 6320). Il a estimé que la RAI avait enfreint les obligations issues de sa charte en cryptant le signal de ses chaînes de télévision gratuites, empêchant ainsi Sky Italia de les reprendre sur sa plateforme.  Plus


Media and Protection of Minors in France - TV and Cinema

Auteurs: Mathias Grenier, Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 26/06/2012

L'article est disponible en anglais uniquement. Il décrit la régulation française sur la protection des mineurs concernant les œuvres cinématographiques et audiovisuels.  Plus


The Protection of Children from Harmful Effects of Films in the United States

Auteurs: Jonathan Perl, Media Center, New York Law School

Publié: 26/06/2012

L'article était écrit en anglais et est disponible en anglais uniquement. Il décrit la régulation sur la protection des mineurs concernant les œuvres cinématographiques et audiovisuels dans les Etats-Unis.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2012-4: Les droits exclusifs et les brefs reportages d’actualité

Auteurs: Peter Matzneller, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/06/2012

L'année 2012 est annoncée à juste titre comme l'Année du Sport, sachant qu'elle nous offrira à la fois une Coupe d'Europe de football et des jeux Olympiques d'été. Cette année verra également, si ce n'est déjà fait, se dérouler des championnats du monde dans de nombreuses autres disciplines, notamment le biathlon, le saut à ski, le patinage artistique, l'athlétisme en salle, le tennis de table, la planche à voile, le billard, le cyclisme, le badminton, le hockey sur glace, la course de moto, le tir, la course d'orientation, l'aviron, le baseball, le canoë, la lutte, le triathlon, le jiu-jitsu, le karaté, la danse et la natation. Sans oublier les championnats du monde de boxe et d'échecs, de nombreux championnats d'Europe dans divers sports et une multitude de compétitions nationales, le tournoi de tennis ATP, les courses de Formule 1, la Coupe du monde de ski alpin FIS, le tournoi de la Ligue des Champions de football…  Plus


IRIS Plus 2012-3: L’avenir des aides d’Etat

Auteurs: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, Observatoire européen de l‘audiovisuel

Publié: 01/04/2012

Comme chaque année, le mois de mai 2012 sera l'occasion d'une édition du Festival du Film de Cannes et d'une nouvelle Palme d'Or. En marge de cet événement se tiendra le Marché du Film de Cannes, certes moins médiatisé mais bien plus important pour le secteur du cinéma. Il permettra à plus de 10 000 professionnels de l'industrie cinématographique de plus de 100 pays de choisir dans un catalogue d'environ 4 000 films près de 1 500 titres qui seront projetés dans les salles. Bien entendu, dès que l'on parle d'oeuvres cinématographiques, la question de leur financement se pose, et notamment celle de la marge de manoeuvre dont disposent les Etats pour soutenir le secteur cinématographique.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2012-2: La durée de vie du droit d’auteur d’une œuvre audiovisuelle

Auteurs: Christina Angelopoulos, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/03/2012

Les droits de propriété intellectuelle sont un des instruments, voire le seul, permettant de récompenser et de stimuler la créativité. S'ils sont rattachés à de nombreux biens qui forment une partie de notre patrimoine culturel, ils ne peuvent pas être associés physiquement à un bien personnel comme pourraient l'être, par exemple, une peinture ou une sculpture. Grâce aux droits de propriété intellectuelle, les auteurs et d'autres titulaires de droits peuvent tirer profit de leurs contributions créatives à l'élaboration de produits audiovisuels tangibles et intangibles de la même façon que d'autres gagnent de l'argent en vendant le support physique des oeuvres audiovisuelles qu'ils possèdent.  Plus


Die ungarische Regelung für den Schutz der Minderjährigen vor schädlichen Medieninhalten

Auteurs: Réka Sümegh, Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/01/2012

L'article est disponible en allemand uniquement. Il décrit la régulation hongroise sur la protection des mineurs concernant les œuvres cinématographiques et audiovisuels.  Plus


Résultat de la recherche :

81 correspondant(s)
  1. Premier
  2. ...
  3. 2
  4. Page 3
  5. 4
  6. 5
  7. ...
  8. Dernier