In the public interest

 

IRIS Themes - Vol. II - Freedom of Expression and the Media: Standard-setting by the Council of Europe (II) Parliamentary Assembly

Authors: European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/12/2011

This e-book provides valuable insights into the work of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) on freedom of expression and the media. It summarises the many positions adopted by the PACE since June 1995 in no less than 49 official documents designed to guide the member states of the Council of Europe. It also provides direct access to each of those official documents.  More


IRIS Themes - Vol. I - Freedom of Expression and the Media: Standard-setting by the Council of Europe (I) Committee of Ministers

Authors: European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/12/2011

This e-book provides valuable insights into the work of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe on freedom of expression and the media. It summarises the many principles and normative requirements adopted by the Council since November 1994 in no less than 57 official documents designed to guide the member states of the Council of Europe. It also provides direct access to each of those official documents.  More


IRIS Plus 2011-6: Limits to the Use of Personal Data

Authors: Alexander Scheuer and Sebastian Schweda, Institute for European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/10/2011

At the end of September, Facebook announced a plan to extend their service in order to, as it stated, enable users to create a “Life Archive” and thus offer an unlimited number of “friends” all the details and events of their own lives at the click of a mouse. Who would have thought twenty years ago that this project would on no account be understood as a continuation of Orwell’s 1984 but as an offer of a service and business model to be taken seriously? And who would have assumed at that time that, in the light of this and similar services, we would one day be discussing whether and how it would still be possible to exercise control over electronically available personal data? The answer might be that the founding fathers of the European Convention on Human Rights at least considered questions like these to be possible, since there are subjects that lead us to face challenges that date back a long way despite being dressed up in new clothes. In the context of personal data, the answer consists in finding a meaningful balance between the rights to freedom of information and freedom of expression on the one hand and the protection of the personality and the private sphere on the other, and it is these conflicting interests that the Convention has always clearly had in mind.  More


IRIS Plus 2011-5: Why Discuss Network Neutrality?

Authors: Nico van Eijk, Institute for Information Law (IViR), Faculty of Law, University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/09/2011

The freedom to receive and impart information is guaranteed by Article 10 of the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms of the Council of Europe. As is the case for exercising other fundamental freedoms, the mere recognition of the freedom of expression does not mean that citizens are in a position to enjoy it. For that to happen, they need to be able to communicate with each other, which in the modern world can be made possible through a wide array of communications outlets including the Internet. The European Audiovisual Observatory examines questions related to the exercise of freedom of expression regarding their importance for audiovisual media. In the context of the Internet, this means, for example, looking at the many audiovisual media services that use broadband capacity to reach the consumer or, conversely, at the content that Internet users self-generate and post on Internet platforms. Obviously, the receiving or imparting of content offered by or to audiovisual media services via the Internet presupposes access to communication networks. Whenever such access is restricted we will find somebody to diagnose an impact on the exercise of freedom of expression. Whether this diagnosis is correct and, if this were to be the case, whether the impact qualifi es as undue interference with the freedom of expression is one question discussed under the notion of “network neutrality”. It is the very issue looming in the background of this IRIS plus.  More


IRIS Plus 2011-3: Media Literacy

Authors: Tarlach McGonagle, Institute for Information Law (IViR), Faculty of Law, University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/05/2011

Continuous learning is a well established concept to guarantee that graduation from school or university does not mark the end of studying the subjects related to one’s profession. The more an area of knowledge is apt to change the bigger the need to stay on one’s toes. Training on the job is certainly another way to handle the challenge but depending on the sophistication of the issues it may turn out to be a dead end.  More


IRIS Plus 2011-2: An Insight into Selected Film Funding Systems

Authors: Christian M. Bron and Peter Matzneller, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/04/2011

Film aid is not only designed to promote creativity, but it can also be remarkably creative itself in terms of the way it is organised. This is presumably linked to the fact that the definition of common film aid objectives, such as the protection and promotion of cultural diversity and identity or state support for the national film industry, remains rather vague. What is culture? What is diversity? What is the basis of cultural identity? What exactly should and can state subsidies achieve? These questions are wrestled with first of all when the objectives of public film aid are defined. But they must also be answered whenever a decision on the distribution of national and European funding is taken on the basis of these objectives. The real challenge therefore lies in the need to lay down conditions for the granting of aid in advance, so that the decisions taken on that basis are at least practicable and help to achieve the objectives set out.  More


IRIS Plus 2011-1: A Landmark for Mass Media in Russia

Authors: Andrei Richter, Moscow Media Law and Policy Centre

Published: 06/02/2011

When on 15 June 2010 the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation adopted Resolution No. 16 “On the Judicial Practice Related to the Statute of the Russian Federation ‘On the Mass Media’”, the first international voice applauding this step was that of Dunja Mijatovic, the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media, who called it a “landmark resolution” and “a commendable effort to bring Russian court practice in line with international media freedom standards”.  More


IRIS Plus 2010-6: Switchover to the Digital Dividend

Authors: David Korteweg & Tarlach McGonagle, Institute for Information Law (IViR), Faculty of Law, University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/12/2010

Like Siamese twins, the switchover to digital television is inseparable from the spectrum liberated as a result of the process. The twin of the switchover is called digital dividend. If we look closer at these twins, we realize that they are non-identical, as far as at least one important point is concerned. Whereas lots of facts and figures are being collected to document how countries are moving from analogue to digital television, much less information seems available on how they might wish to, or are obliged to, use the resulting digital dividend. Admittedly, when it comes to describing developments concerning the digitization of television the usable data are significantly more concrete than they are regarding policies for the digital dividend. And it is these policies that are decisive for determining the use of the freed up spectrum. Tracking policies becomes easier, however, if we take stock of existing legal frameworks within which these policies are being developed. This IRIS plus deals, in its Lead Article, with the rules and regulations currently determining the possible uses of the digital dividend, while its Related Reporting and its Zoom section provide legal and market information relevant to the implementation of digital television.  More


IRIS Plus 2010-4: Public Service Media: Money for Content

Authors: Christian M. Bron, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/06/2010

There have been many public statements on the funding of public service broadcasting and the expectations associated with it. As far as the European Union is concerned, mention might be made of the Communication from the Commission of 27 October 2009 on the application of state aid rules to public service broadcasting (OJ C 257, pp. 1–14) or in the case of the Council of Europe, the Committee of Ministers’ reply of 21 April 2010 welcoming the Parliamentary Assembly’s Recommendation 1878 (2009) on the funding of public service broadcasting.  More


IRIS Plus 2010-2: Digital Cinema

Authors: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/04/2010

The European cinema of the near future will be digital. This much seems to be agreed upon by anyone who has a say in the matter. But the road there requires special efforts and may indeed be long and winding. This IRIS plus asks where we stand in the roll-out of digital cinema and it does so with regard to the legal framework as well as the digital cinema market. Do European countries invest enough in the digitisation of their cinemas to make the digital revolution happen? Do their support schemes comply with legal re quirements? Are all risks for the cinema market identified and correctly assessed? What will the digital revolution me an for the various players? For example, is there a danger that small cinemas might disappear? What other legal issues need to be considered in order to make digital cinema an economic and legal reality.  More


Search results :

81 available article(s)
  1. First
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. Page 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. ...
  8. Last

Questions d'intérêt public

 

IRIS Thèmes - Vol. II - Liberté d'expression et médias : l'activité normative du Conseil de l'Europe (II) Assemblée parlementaire

Auteurs: Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/12/2011

Cet e-book fournit des indications précieuses sur le travail de l'Assemblée parlementaire du Conseil de l'Europe (APCE) concernant la liberté d'expression et les médias. Il résume les nombreuses positions adoptées par l'APCE depuis juin 1995 dans pas moins de 49 documents officiels destinés à guider les Etats membres du Conseil de l'Europe. Il fournit également un accès direct à chacun de ces documents officiels.  Plus


IRIS Thèmes - Vol. I - Liberté d'expression et médias : l'activité normative du Conseil de l'Europe (I) Comité des Ministres

Auteurs: Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/12/2011

Cet e-book fournit des indications précieuses sur le travail du Comité des Ministres du Conseil de l'Europe concernant la liberté d'expression et des médias. Il résume les principes et les nombreuses exigences normatives adoptés par le Conseil depuis novembre 1994 dans pas moins de 57 documents officiels destinés à guider les Etats membres du Conseil de l'Europe. Il fournit également un accès direct à chacun de ces documents officiels.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2011-6: Les limites à l’utilisation des données personnelles

Auteurs: Alexander Scheuer et Sebastian Schweda, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/10/2011

Fin septembre, Facebook a annoncé une extension prochaine du service qui permettra aux utilisateurs de constituer une « archive vivante » et d’offrir ainsi d’un seul clic tous les détails et les événements de leur vie privée à un nombre illimité d’« amis ». Qui aurait pu penser, il y a 20 ans, que ce projet serait perçu non comme la continuation de 1984 d’Orwell, mais comme une offre de service sérieuse et un modèle économique efficace ? Et qui aurait pu penser qu’un jour ce type de service nous amènerait à nous demander s’il existe encore une possibilité de contrôler les données à caractère personnel disponibles sur les systèmes électroniques et, le cas échéant, comment ? La réponse pourrait être la suivante : les initiateurs de la Convention européenne sur les droits de l’homme, tout au moins, croyaient en cette possibilité. En effet, certains sujets nous ramènent toujours vers des problèmes qui, en dépit de nouvelles apparences, sont connus de longue date. En ce qui concerne les données à caractère personnel, l’enjeu consiste à trouver un juste équilibre entre d’une part, le droit à la liberté d’information et d’expression, et d’autre part, la protection de la personnalité et de la vie privée. Or, la Convention a toujours été consciente de l’existence de ce champ de tension.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2011-5: Pourquoi débattre de la neutralité du Net ?

Auteurs: Nico van Eijk, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Faculté de droit, Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/09/2011

La liberté de recevoir et de diffuser des informations est garantie par l’article 10 de la Convention de sauvegarde des droits de l’homme et des libertés fondamentales du Conseil de l’Europe. Comme c’est le cas pour l’exercice d’autres libertés fondamentales, la seule reconnaissance de cette liberté d’expression ne garantit pas que les citoyens soient en mesure d’en profi ter. Pour cela, ils ont besoin de pouvoir communiquer entre eux, ce qui, dans notre monde moderne, est possible grâce à de multiples outils de communication, notamment l’internet. L’Observatoire européen de l’audiovisuel examine plusieurs aspects de l’exercice de la liberté d’expression en lien avec leur impact sur les médias audiovisuels. Dans le cadre de l’internet, par exemple, cela implique une analyse des nombreux services de médias audiovisuels à haut débit et de leur capacité à parvenir jusqu’au consommateur ou, inversement, l’analyse des contenus que les internautes génèrent eux-mêmes et publient sur les plateformes internet. Il est clair que la réception ou la diffusion de contenus proposés par les services de médias audiovisuels ou destinés à ces services via internet nécessitent un accès aux réseaux de communication. Chaque fois que cet accès est restreint, il se trouve quelqu’un pour diagnostiquer une entrave à l’exercice de la liberté d’expression. L’une des questions au cœur du débat sur la neutralité du réseau porte sur la justesse d’un tel diagnostic et, le cas échéant, sur l’assimilation ou non de cette entrave à une atteinte illégitime à la liberté d’expression. C’est là le thème central de ce numéro d’IRIS plus.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2011-3: L’éducation aux médias

Auteurs: Tarlach McGonagle, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Faculté de droit, Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/05/2011

La formation continue est un concept bien établi permettant de poursuivre l’étude des disciplines liées à l’exercice d’une profession au-delà de l’obtention d’un diplôme scolaire ou universitaire. Plus une discipline évolue, plus il est nécessaire de se former en permanence. La formation sur le tas permet également de relever ce défi, mais en fonction du niveau de sophistication des connaissances requises, cette solution peut s’avérer inefficace.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2011-2: Analyse d’une sélection de régimes d’aide à la production audiovisuelle

Auteurs: Christian M. Bron and Peter Matzneller, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/04/2011

L’aide à la production audiovisuelle est non seulement dédiée au développement de la créativité, mais elle peut elle-même se révéler particulièrement créative au niveau de sa conception. Ceci est probablement dû au fait que la définition même de ses objectifs habituels, telles que la préservation et la promotion de la diversité et de l’identité culturelles ou le soutien organisé par l’Etat au profit de l’industrie audiovisuelle locale, reste plutôt vague. Qu’est-ce que la culture, qu’est-ce que la diversité ? Quel est le fondement de l’identité culturelle ? Quelle incidence doivent ou peuvent avoir les subventions publiques au cas par cas ? Ces questions sont abordées, en premier lieu, dans la formulation des objectifs du financement public des œuvres audiovisuelles. Mais elles resurgissent à chaque décision concrète concernant la répartition des fonds nationaux et européens, qui doit s’adosser à ces critères. La véritable difficulté consiste donc à définir préalablement des critères d’attribution de façon à ce que les décisions qui s’en inspirent soient pour le moins applicables et servent à concrétiser les objectifs fixés.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2011-1: Une date historique pour les médias de masse en Russie

Publié: 06/02/2011

Lorsque le 15 juin 2010, la Cour suprême de la Fédération de Russie a adopté la résolution n° 16 « sur la pratique judiciaire liée à la loi de la Fédération de Russie ‘sur les médias de masse’ », la première personnalité internationale à applaudir cette initiative fut Dunja Mijatovic, Représentante de l’OSCE pour la liberté des médias, considérant qu’il s’agissait d’une « résoluti on importante » et d’un « eff ort louable pour aligner la pratique judiciaire russe sur les normes internationales en matière de liberté des médias ».  Plus


IRIS Plus 2010-6: Le passage au dividende numérique

Publié: 01/12/2010

Tels des frères siamois, le passage à la télévision numérique est indissociable du spectre libéré par suite de ce processus et qualifié de dividende numérique. Mais si l’on examine plus attentivement ces deux frères jumeaux, on constate qu’ils ne sont pas identiques sur un point important au moins. Alors qu’un grand nombre d’éléments et de chiffres sont recueillis pour établir les modalités du passage de la télévision analogique au numérique des divers pays, les informations sur la manière dont ils pourraient envisager ou dont ils sont contraints d’exploiter le dividende numérique qu’ils en retirent semblent nettement plus rares. Certes, s’agissant de la description de l’évolution de la numérisation de la télévision, les données exploitables sont beaucoup plus concrètes que celles des politiques adoptées en matière de dividende numérique. Ces dernières sont déterminantes pour définir l’utilisation du spectre radioélectrique libéré. Il est cependant plus facile de retracer le cheminement de ces politiques si l’on tient compte des cadres juridiques en vigueur au sein desquels ces politiques sont élaborées. L’article de fond du présent IRIS plus porte sur la réglementation qui détermine à l’heure actuelle les utilisations envisageables du dividende numérique, tandis que ses « Reportages » connexes et son « Zoom » sur le sujet offrent des informations sur la législation et les marchés pertinentes pour la mise en œuvre de la télévision numérique.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2010-4: Médias de service public: pas de contenu sans financement

Auteurs: Christian M. Bron, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/06/2010

Le financement de la radiodiffusion de service public et les exigences qui y sont attachées donnent lieu régulièrement à de nombreuses déclarations officielles. Citons, à titre d’exemple pour l’Union européenne, la communication de la Commission du 27 octobre 2009 sur l’application des règles concernant les aides d’Etat aux radiodiffuseurs publics (JO C 257, p. 1-14) ou, pour le Conseil de l’Europe, la réponse du Conseil des ministres du 21 avril 2010, dans laquelle ce dernier se félicite de la recommandation de l’Assemblée parlementaire 1878 (2009) relative au « financement de la radiodiffusion de service public ».  Plus


IRIS Plus 2010-2: Le cinéma numérique

Auteurs: Francisco Javier Cabrera Blázquez, Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/04/2010

Dans un proche avenir, le cinéma européen sera numérique. Tout au moins, c’est l’avis des personnes concernées. Mais cette transition ne se fera pas sans difficulté et la route pourrait se révéler longue et sinueuse. Ce numéro d’IRIS plus fait le point sur le déploiement du cinéma numérique, en s’intéressant à son marché et à son cadre juridique. Les pays européens investissent-ils suffisamment dans la numérisation de leurs salles de cinéma pour faire de la révolution numérique une réalité ? Leurs régimes d’aide respectent-ils les exigences légales ? T us les risques encourus par le marché du cinéma sont-ils identifiés et correctement évalués ? Que signifiera la révolution numérique pour les divers acteurs ? Par exemple, les petits cinémas risquent-ils de disparaître? Quels autres aspects juridiques doivent être pris en compte pour faire du cinéma numérique une réalité économique et légale ?  Plus


Résultat de la recherche :

81 correspondant(s)
  1. Premier
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. Page 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. ...
  8. Dernier