Regulatory structures

 

IRIS Special 2010 - The Regulatory Framework for Audiovisual Media Services in Russia

Authors: Susanne NIKOLTCHEV (Ed.), European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 17/02/2010

2009 saw a steady flow of information on the EU’s Audiovisual Media Services Directive and one does not need a crystal ball to predict the next wave of information that will spill over our desks in 2010, be it to tell us about transposition and implementation or about EU enforcement measures. The European Audiovisual Observatory has already analysed some of the core questions that the Directive raises, concentrating especially on those that are likely to continue to trouble legislators, regulators and the industry. As a result, we published in June 2009 the IRIS Special entitled “Ready, Set…Go? – The Audiovisual Media Services Directive”.  More


IRIS Plus 2010-1: Digital Television

Authors: Andrei Richter, Moscow Media Law and Policy Center, and Taras Shevchenko, Media Law Institute, Kiev

Published: 01/02/2010

Imagine turning on your television and not receiving any signal. For an increasing number of television viewers this could have been the case had they not re-equipped themselves for digital television. To mention only the early birds: Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Finland and Sweden completed the transition to digital terrestrial television between 2006 and 2007. Consumers living in these countries had no choice but to follow suit lest they feared to lose what is still one of – if not– the most used audiovisual media service. If everything goes according to the expectation of the EU Commission, almost all EU member states will meet the 2012 EU target for switch-off and, hence, more digital television equipment will find its homes.  More


IRIS Plus 2009-6: The "Telecoms Review": New Impetus for Audiovisual Media?

Authors: Sebastian Schweda, Institute of European Media Law (EMR) Saarbrücken/Brussels

Published: 01/11/2009

This IRIS plus examines the review of the European telecommunications regulatory framework. The lead article is as multilayered as the theme itself. Market regulation, spectrum policy, new distribution methods, interoperability, network neutrality, investment protection, "must-carry" obligations, access to information, fundamental rights, universal services and data protection are just a few key phrases linked to the various aspects of communications regulation.  More


IRIS Special 2009 - Ready, Set … Go?

Authors: Susanne NIKOLTCHEV (Ed.), European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 12/07/2009

The Audiovisual Media Services Directive. If the transposition of the EC Directive were to be compared to a competition, it would be between the national legislatures to see which has produced the best domestic law. Many different yardsticks could be used to measure which law is the “best”, such as the interests of the legislature or of those to whom the provisions are directed, the rights to be protected, the interests of society or – perhaps in first place in the EC context – its benefit for the EC’s internal market. However, the different interests involved are just one aspect of this publication, which also deals with the means of transposing the Directive, that is to say the choice and characteristics of the models selected and the actual steps taken to implement the provisions and subsequently monitor the results. These aspects are also important when it comes to assessing the quality of the domestic law in each case.  More


IRIS Special 2008 - Editorial Responsibility

Authors: Susanne NIKOLTCHEV (Ed.), European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/08/2008

Almost exactly twenty years after the adoption of the “Television without Frontiers” Directive, namely on 19 December 2009, the deadline for transposing the Audiovisual Media Service Directive (AVMSD) will expire. In other words, the national rules that so far served to facilitate cross-border television must be adapted or replaced in order to reflect, among others, the widened scope of application of the Community law framework to non-linear services.  More


IRIS Special 2007 - Legal Aspects of Video on Demand

Authors: Susanne NIKOLTCHEV (Ed.), European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 17/12/2007

Whenever a “new” audiovisual service becomes established, questions are inevitably asked about what legal norms govern it and whether those norms take sufficient account of all legitimate needs and interests. As far as video-on-demand (VoD) is concerned, it is clear that the “Television without Frontiers” Directive (89/552/EEC, last amended by Directive 97/36/EC) does not apply.  More


IRIS Plus 2007-5: A Post-Soviet Perspective on Licensing Television and Radio

Authors: Andrei Richter, Moscow Media Law and Policy Center (MMLPC)

Published: 01/08/2007

This IRIS plus gives an overview of the different legal frameworks for licensing broadcasting in countries of the former Soviet Union, which all share the experience of a relatively recent launching of licensing systems.  More


IRIS Special 2003 - Co-Regulation of the Media in Europe

Authors: Susanne Nikoltchev (Ed.), European Audiovisual Observatory

Published: 01/12/2003

This publication explains co-regulation, offers current examples of its use and discusses possible areas in which it may be applied. It describes the characteristics and legal requirements of co-regulation, as well as the chances and risks associated with it.  More


IRIS Plus 2003-5: Horizontal Rating of Audiovisual Content in Europe. An Alternative to Multi-level Classification?

Authors: Carmen Palzer, Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken / Brussels

Published: 01/10/2003

This article discusses the horizontal rating of audiovisual content in Europe and rounds off our series on various aspects of "horizontal regulation".  More


IRIS Plus 2003-1: New European Rules for the Communications Sector

Authors: Nico van Eijk, Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam

Published: 01/02/2003

This article analyses the new EU framework for the communications sector, exploring several of the provisions that are more directly relevant for the audiovisual sector.  More


Search results :

26 available article(s)
  1. 1
  2. Page 2
  3. 3

Structures de réglementation

 

IRIS Spécial 2010 - Le cadre réglementaire des services de médias audiovisuels en Russie

Auteurs: Susanne NIKOLTCHEV (Ed.), Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 17/02/2010

L’année 2009 a vu déferler un flot constant d’informations au sujet de la Directive Services de médias audiovisuels de l’UE, et il n’est pas nécessaire de posséder une boule de cristal pour prédire qu’une nouvelle vague d’informations se déversera sur nos bureaux dès 2010, que ce soit au sujet de la transposition et de la mise en oeuvre du texte, ou des mesures d’exécution adoptées par l’UE. L’Observatoire européen de l’audiovisuel a déjà analysé certaines des questions fondamentales que soulève la directive, en insistant surtout sur les thèmes susceptibles de représenter une gêne pour les législateurs, les autorités de réglementation et les acteurs du secteur. Dans cet esprit, nous avons publié en juin 2009 un IRIS Spécial intitulé « A vos marques, prêts … partez ? La Directive Services de médias audiovisuels ».  Plus


IRIS Plus 2010-1: La télévision numérique

Auteurs: Andrei Richter, Centre de droit et de politique des médias et Taras Shevchenko, Institut du droit des médias, Kiev

Publié: 01/02/2010

Imaginez allumer votre télévision et ne capter aucun signal. Un nombre croissant de téléspectateurs ont pu se retrouver dans cette situation faute de s’être ré-équipés à temps pour la télévision numérique. Le Luxembourg, les Pays-Bas, la Finlande et la Suède, pour ne citer que les premiers, ont accompli entre 2006 et 2007 leur transition vers la télévision numérique terrestre. Les téléspectateurs de ces pays n’ont pas eu le choix : il a fallu suivre cette évolution, sous peine d’être privés de ce qui demeure l’un des (sinon le) services de médias audiovisuels les plus utilisés. Si tout se passe conformément aux attentes de la Commission européenne, la quasi- totalité des Etats membres de l’UE respecteront la date cible de 2012 fixée par l’Union pour l’arrêt de la diffusion de la télévision en analogique ; des équipements supplémentaires seront donc acquis en vue du passage à la télévision numérique.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2009-6: Révision du « Paquet Télécom » : un nouvel élan pour les médias audiovisuels ?

Auteurs: Sebastian Schweda, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck/Bruxelles

Publié: 01/11/2009

Cet IRIS plus présente un rapport sur la révision du dispositif législatif européen en matière de télécommunications. À l'image de l'objet même de son étude, l'article de fond comporte plusieurs niveaux. Régulation du marché, gestion des radiofréquences, nouveaux modes de diffusion, interopérabilité, neutralité des réseaux, assurance des investissements, must-carry, accès à l'information, droits fondamentaux, service universel, protection des données, tous ces termes ne représentent qu'une infime partie des nombreux aspects qui interviennent de façon pertinente dans la régulation des communications.  Plus


IRIS Spécial 2009 - A vos marques, prêts… partez ?

Auteurs: Susanne NIKOLTCHEV (Ed.), Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 12/07/2009

La Directive Services de médias audiovisuels. S’il fallait comparer la transposition d’une directive communautaire à une compétition, ce serait à une course entre législateurs nationaux à qui présentera les meilleures dispositions nationales. Pour déterminer quel est le « meilleur » droit national, divers critères peuvent être pris en compte : par exemple, les intérêts du législateur, les destinataires de la réglementation, les intérêts à protéger, la société, ou, et peut-être au premier chef dans le contexte communautaire, l’utilité pour le marché intérieur communautaire. Ces différents intérêts ne constituent cependant qu’un aspect de la présente publication. Il y est aussi question des moyens permettant la transposition de la directive, c’est-à-dire du choix et des caractéristiques du modèle de réglementation retenu, ainsi que des étapes concrètes conduisant à la mise en pratique du texte, puis à une évaluation ultérieure. Autant d’aspects tout aussi décisifs dans la qualité de chaque législation nationale.  Plus


IRIS Spécial 2008 - La responsabilité éditoriale

Auteurs: Susanne NIKOLTCHEV (Ed.), Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/08/2008

Le délai de transposition de la Directive sur les services de médias audiovisuels (Directive SMAV) arrivera à expiration le 19 décembre 2009, soit presque vingt ans, jour pour jour, après l’adoption de la Directive « Télévision sans frontières ». Autrement dit les règles nationales, qui facilitaient jusqu’à présent la pénétration transfrontalière de la télévision, devront être adaptées ou remplacées afin de tenir compte, entre autres, de l’extension du champ d’application du cadre juridique communautaire aux services non-linéaires.  Plus


IRIS Spécial 2007 - Les aspects juridiques de la vidéo à la demande

Auteurs: Susanne NIKOLTCHEV (Ed.), Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 17/12/2007

À chaque apparition d’un “nouveau” service audiovisuel, une question se pose inévitablement : à quelles normes obéit-il et ces normes tiennent-elles suffisamment compte de tous les besoins et intérêts légitimes ? En ce qui concerne la vidéo à la demande (ci-dessous “VoD”), une chose est évidente, la Directive Télévision sans frontières (89/552/CEE, telle que modifiée par la Directive 97/36/CE) ne s’applique en aucun cas.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2007-5: L'octroi des licences télévisuelles et radiophoniques dans l'espace postsoviétique : état des lieux

Auteurs: Andrei Richter, Centre de droit et de politique des médias de Moscou (CDPMM)

Publié: 01/08/2007

Cet IRIS plus propose une vue d'ensemble des différents cadres juridiques présidant à l'octroi de licences de radiodiffusion dans les pays de l'ancienne Union soviétique, qui ont tous en commun une mise en place relativement récente de tels systèmes d'attribution.  Plus


IRIS Spécial 2003 - La corégulation des médias en Europe

Auteurs: Susanne Nikoltchev (Ed.), Observatoire européen de l'audiovisuel

Publié: 01/12/2003

Dans cette publication la réflexion est étayée d'une série d'exemples pour la mise en place de la corégulation et passe au crible quelques domaines d'application possibles. Les caractéristiques et les préalables juridiques de ce mode de régulation y sont décrits, ainsi que les avantages et les risques inhérents à sa mise en oeuvre.  Plus


IRIS Plus 2003-5: La classification horizontale des contenus audiovisuels en Europe - une alternative à la classification multiple ?

Auteurs: Carmen Palzer, Institut du droit européen des médias (EMR), Sarrebruck / Bruxelles

Publié: 01/10/2003

Cette contribution traite de la classification horizontale des contenus audiovisuels en Europe et marque le point final de notre série sur les différents aspects de la "régulation horizontale".  Plus


IRIS Plus 2003-1: Nouvelle réglementation européenne en matière de communications

Auteurs: Nico van Eijk, Institut du droit de l'information (IViR), Université d'Amsterdam

Publié: 01/02/2003

Le présent article analyse le nouveau cadre réglementaire européen en matière de communications et examine également plus en détail un certain nombre de dispositions qui concernent plus directement l'audiovisuel.  Plus


Résultat de la recherche :

26 correspondant(s)
  1. 1
  2. Page 2
  3. 3