The European Audiovisual Observatory has currently 41 Member States. The European Union represented by the European Commission is also a member, bringing the total number up to 42. Our members are represented within the Observatory's Executive Council which is our main governing body. Each country is typically represented by delegates from its Ministry of Culture, Communications or Telecoms, for example. Some countries are represented by their national regulatory authority. The Executive Council meets twice year, once in the country holding the Chair of the Executive Council, and once in Strasbourg.

It is the role of the Executive Council to approve and adopt the Action Plan and accompanying budget submitted by the Observatory's secretariat. These documents lay out the strategic actions for the following year and provide the budget to make these actions possible.

2019 Presidency of the Observatory 2019 Presidency of the Observatory


Observatory Presidency Countries Observatory Presidency Countries

2019  Italy

2018  France

2017  Poland

2016  Czech Republic

2015  Montenegro

2014  Italy

2013  Bulgaria

2012  Bosnia & Herzegovina

2011  The Netherlands

2010  Greece

2009  The European Union

2008  Switzerland

2007  Romania

2006  Norway

2005  Slovak Republic

2004  France

2003  Finland

2002  "The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"

2001  Turkey

2000  Turkey

1999  Greece

1998  Hungary

1997  Spain

1996  Poland

1995  United Kingdom

1994  Switzerland

1993  Switzerland

1992  Germany

Follow us on social Media Follow us on social Media


  Watch our videos