The European Audiovisual Observatory currently has 40 Member States. The European Union represented by the European Commission is also a member, bringing the total number up to 41. Our members are represented within the Observatory's Executive Council which is our main governing body. Each country is typically represented by delegates from its Ministry of Culture, Communications or Telecoms, for example. Some countries are represented by their national regulatory authority. The Executive Council meets twice a year, once in the country holding the Chair of the Executive Council, and once in Strasbourg.

It is the role of the Executive Council to approve and adopt the Action Plan and accompanying budget submitted by the Observatory's secretariat. These documents lay out the strategic actions for the following year and provide the budget to make these actions possible.

2024 Presidency of the Observatory



Calendar of meetings
  • 14 March 2024: Advisory Committee (Strasbourg, France)
  • 6 May 2024: Bureau meeting (online)
  • 13 June 2024: Executive Council (Tbilisi, Georgia)
  • 20 September 2024: Advisory Committee (online)
  • 3 October 2024 (afternoon): Bureau meeting
  • 6 November 2024: Executive Council (Strasbourg, France)
Observatory Presidency Countries

2024  Georgia

2023  Portugal

2022  Estonia

2021  United Kingdom

2020  Morocco

2019  Italy

2018  France

2017  Poland

2016  Czech Republic

2015  Montenegro

For information on previous presidency countries, click here.

Follow us on social Media


Watch our videos